We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The case of the missing pasta sauce”
Review of The Cafe at Briarcliff - CLOSED

The Cafe at Briarcliff
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Briarcliff Parkway
Description: serving 3 little pigs barbeque
Manvel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The case of the missing pasta sauce”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

After shopping at Nell Hills and the surrounding stores, we stopped at The Café for lunch. The interior has a pleasant comfortable décor.

I ordered the Sweet Potato Veggie Pasta. It had a beautiful presentation but very little flavor. I’m convinced they forgot to put the brown butter and walnut oil sauce on my pasta. Also missing was the pine nut bread crumbs the online menu so carefully describes.

To top it off, our server was not very attentive. My drink glass was never refilled. The lack of attention to detail, by the chef and waitstaff, spoiled what otherwise would have been a pleasant lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaylorLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch in the North Land”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

If you ask my wife she would say that the Guapo Salad is worth the visit - she loves the avocado based entree. I have enjoyed the Cobb Salad, the BBQ pork sandwich, the Reuben and the pick-two lunch feature. I find the atmosphere to be relaxed and the menu fairly diverse.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcitybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place never lived up tot he expectations of the people in the neighborhood nor to the expectations of management, if management changes are any indication. It seemed that it never knew what kind of restaurant it wanted to be. People expected a bright cheery breakfast and lunch place, a la 1st Watch. What they got was a subdued, somewhat dark, somewhat pricey place that seems to aspire to something it's not. The village has pricey and fancy. We don't need pretension. Not the atmosphere for breakfast or lunch that I would expect. For dinner out I would go to other places in the village and pay a little more. That said, the service is friendly and the food is good, if a little overpriced. It should stop trying to be something it's not. A dark, slightly overpriced nightspot.
Briarcliff Cafe needs customers.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced bland food And noisy”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Business lunches are about communication. When I politely requested they turn the music down the manager refused saying the reason they keep it at that level is so people can talk and other tables will not hear their conversation. What? Obviously she has never been to a family reunion where everyone begins to talk LOUDER to be heard over the din. Look, this is advice for all restaurants, turn your music down. 56% of the population has some sort of hearing loss. We are able to hear the other person talking but cannot understand them with loud background noise. We do not come to listen to your bloody music but to try and enjoy our companions company and the food.
Speaking of their food it was nondescript and overpriced.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenScott_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe at Briarcliff also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing