We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travelers beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is clean and attractive, well-furnished, breakfast is good and desk staff are helpful. However... we were in town to provide a full day of training and had the printed training materials shipped to the hotel. The manager was unable to locate the fed ex package, despite increasingly frantic calls and in-person requests. Once we named the person who signed for the Fed Ex, he found the materials within a minute in "secure storage." This strongly suggested to us that he had not even looked. He did not apologize, nor was he willing to send someone to deliver the box to the training site (which was only 2-3 miles away). Very poor responsiveness to business customers. We will not book there again, despite nice accommodations and good desk staff.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

When we first spoke on the phone, you had indicated that you did not how the packages were shipped. It was not until later, you found out it was Fedex to the hotel. Most packages, mail etc. are picked up the same day they arrive, that was not the case with your packages. They were stored in a secured location because they were not picked up. Had you asked when you checked out of the hotel, we could have retrieved them and help load them into your car.

We apologize for the mis-communication.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

This place is really great for the money. I stayed there before a trip to New York. I brought some Special Olympics athletes to KC before a trip to their training in NY. The front desk was more friendly than any other staff. She helped us with ll of our needs.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your posted comments. We enjoyed having your group as our
guests. Please come back and see us when your travels bring you back to Kansas City.

Happy Holidays !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Only $59 for 2 comfy queen beds, spacious/clean/updated room, 25 minutes from downtown. Nice breakfast, even at 5:30am on the weekend. Yummy hot and fresh waffles! BUT, the work-out room carpet hadn't been vacuumed for a LONG time, no pool towels or work-out towels, card key didn't work some of the time, and there were fruit flies hovering over the juice dispenser at breakfast. Also, there was cold air leaking in around the heating/AC unit. The night manager told us to stuff towels around it. When we asked the next day manager for extra towels, she refused and told us to switch rooms! Not an option for us. We told the girl at the front desk about the carpet and towels on Sat. and she kindly said that she'd take care of it right away. On Sunday, the problems were still there!

Room Tip: Our corner room was nice and roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom_in_Iowa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am surprised to hear of the conditions that you found. We want to make this right, please contact me at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Five minutes from the airport. The hotel has a shuttle that starts at 5 a.m. and it is very convient. The staff is very friendly. The room was very comfortable. No loud noises could barely hear any planes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I read the reviews for this hotel before I booked and the average rating was 4 stars; which I think is very accurate after my stay there. The hotel was very clean and I wasn’t afraid to walk around barefoot in the room. The bed was comfortable and a slept great. The amenities include a nice pool and a free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast is just your typical “hotel” breakfast (cereal, juice, coffee, pastries) but was good.  The staff was friendly. Very impressed with what you get for $59.00 a night here. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to share so others can read about your experience.

Also, glad that you were able to taken advantage of some of the discounted rates that we are offering.

We hope to have the chance to be of service again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our objective was to visit the World War I Museum in the downtown area, so we first checked downtown area hotels. All the ones we checked had a "non-refundable" policy, meaning once you book the room, they keep your money even if you have a death in the family or whatever. It seems to us their attitude is that they are doing us a great honor to allow us to stay downtown. So we checked some outlying hotels and settled on the KC Airlport Comfort Inn, which does allow cancellation up until 4 pm of the day you stay. We had a very nice two-night stay and would be happy to stay there again. Only one small glitch; we had asked for a room on the top floor and the nice lady on the phone said that was no problem. However when we arrived, our room was on the second floor. But it was quiet and nice; no problems whatsoever. Oh, and the breakfast was good! Thanks for having such a nice place for travelers to stay, and at a reasonable price too.

Room Tip: We just like the quietness of a top-floor room. No one dances on our ceiling that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for the comments about our hotel. We appreciate you taking the effort to do so.

Sorry about those rigid cancellation policies you ran into with the downtown hotels. We currently have a 4:00pm day of arrival policy. However, sometimes during peak times we
must also make cancellation adjustments as well.

My entire time appreciates your business and hopes that you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel as we were flying out of the air port the following afternoon. We specifically picked this hotel because the website said FREE airport shuttle. When we check in that night we told the guy that we needed a shuttle at 1pm and he marked us down in a book. The next morning we left to go shopping and reminded the lady that we were needing to take the 1 pm shuttle, she confirmed our reservation and said ok. When we came back a couple hours later she rudely told us that we would not be able to park our car at the hotel while we were gone and that if we did it would be towed. This is the first of our 3 interactions that they mentioned this. She said that it was a new policy and that we could have paid for a $120 stay and park package. How is that a FREE air port shuttle!? She didn't offer any apologies or solutions. Horrible customer service!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dureill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

I'm sorry for the confusion regarding your stay. Let me take a moment to clear a few issues up.

Yes, we do have a free shuttle that goes to the airport and to nearby business, shopping and restaurants. We have free parking. Which means if you stay with us one night you do not have to pay to park your car for the night you stay with us. We do have a limited amount of Park and Fly packages that must be booked through the hotel directly, not through any other way. We offer this from October - March only. This rate includes 10 extra days of parking. When you compare the parking fees at the airport, we think this is a great deal.

Unfortunately, some people automatically assume they can just leave their cars in our parking lot. When that happens, we run out of parking for our nightly guests. So to be fair, we limit this package by selling it directly through the hotel, not through a third-party website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#35 of 109 in Kansas City
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#22 of 109 in Kansas City
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport

Address: 11100 N Ambassador Dr, I-29 & 112th Street Exit #12, Kansas City, MO 64153-2013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $80 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for both business and leisure travelers alike, the Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel is two miles from the Kansas City International Airport and offers free airport transportation for its guests with advanced notice. (5:00am-11:00pm)Popular attractions minutes from your guestroom door include:Sprint Arena & Power & Light DistrictDowntown Kansas City - Convention CenterArrowhead(KC Chiefs) Kauffman(Royals) StadiumsWorlds of Fun and Oceans of Fun theme parks Sea Life Aquarium & LEGOLAND Discovery Center Park UniversityAs a guests of Comfort Inn, you will enjoy features like:A 100% Smoke Free hotel.Small Meeting Room. (Call hotel for availabiity)Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access Business & Fitness Center.Saltwater indoor heated pool and hot tub Free local and long distance calls.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at our Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs,sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffles in two flavors!All spacious guest rooms are furnished with 32-inch flat-screen, LCD televisions, coffee makers with free coffee, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards. Guest laundry facilities are located on the premises and dry-cleaning service,(same day) Mon-Fri.The Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel offers warm, inviting and affordable accommodations close to all the best Kansas City has to offer. When you are looking for friendly service, countless features and a great location, make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing