We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and rude customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel as we were flying out of the air port the following afternoon. We specifically picked this hotel because the website said FREE airport shuttle. When we check in that night we told the guy that we needed a shuttle at 1pm and he marked us down in a book. The next morning we left to go shopping and reminded the lady that we were needing to take the 1 pm shuttle, she confirmed our reservation and said ok. When we came back a couple hours later she rudely told us that we would not be able to park our car at the hotel while we were gone and that if we did it would be towed. This is the first of our 3 interactions that they mentioned this. She said that it was a new policy and that we could have paid for a $120 stay and park package. How is that a FREE air port shuttle!? She didn't offer any apologies or solutions. Horrible customer service!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dureill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

I'm sorry for the confusion regarding your stay. Let me take a moment to clear a few issues up.

Yes, we do have a free shuttle that goes to the airport and to nearby business, shopping and restaurants. We have free parking. Which means if you stay with us one night you do not have to pay to park your car for the night you stay with us. We do have a limited amount of Park and Fly packages that must be booked through the hotel directly, not through any other way. We offer this from October - March only. This rate includes 10 extra days of parking. When you compare the parking fees at the airport, we think this is a great deal.

Unfortunately, some people automatically assume they can just leave their cars in our parking lot. When that happens, we run out of parking for our nightly guests. So to be fair, we limit this package by selling it directly through the hotel, not through a third-party website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My Boyfriend reserved us a room at this hotel. The hotel was clean, very nice great price. front desk lady was very UNprofessional, kept calling guest SWEETIE and HON, DARLIN.very FAKE personality, the other desk clerks we met were very Professional and housekeeping was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel and service you received on TripAdvisor. We all try hard to keep the hotel clean and running smoothly.

As the general manager of the hotel, I frequently show my staff the comments that guests have
written about their stay. It's a teaching moment and hope we learn from what our guests are saying.

Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my first time staying at this Comfort Inn in Kansas City/Airport and I was pleased. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The breakfast has a wide variety of things. There is something for everyone. It is very quiet. The front desk staff is quick and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay at our hotel for all to see. We really appreciate you letting others know how you were treated and the value you received.

We are the new owners of the hotel as of April 1st 2012. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We made this reservation online a few hours before hand. We have found that with the Comfort Inn chain you usually can get good to great hotels, along with a few older clunkers. This was an unexpectedly very pleasant stay at an unbelievable rate. We arrived late afternoon and check in took just a moment and we were recognized as Choice Privileges members. Asked to see if a first floor room was available and it was. No problem. The lobby area seems very clean and new. We asked the front desk and she indicated Choice apparently took over this property two years ago or so and made many upgrades. Our room was a king suite. The sitting area was divided from sleeping area by a floor-ceiling wall. Nice touch. Flat screen TV with plenty of cable options and no problems connecting to the internet. The room was clean. We saw none of the problems listed in other reviews. It was nice to have a complete separate bathroom, without the sink in a hallway. Comfortable bed. We did decide to sleep in Sunday morning so we cannot comment regarding breakfast on this trip. As for seeing KC attractions this location is at the NW corner of the metro area but it is right off I-29 and near I-435 to connect to I-35. Located at exit 12 off I-29. Restaurants and upscale shopping are located at exit 8, a simple 5 minute drive. Our cost for this last minute reservation was only about $77 including all taxes. It is the type of facility we would return to.

Room Tip: Even a first floor room in the center of the hallway was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel and sharing them with others on this site.

We are new owners of this hotel as of April 1st 2012. We are proud that we have received
many nice comments about the quality, value and cleanliness of our hotel. Many have been surprised that we are a Comfort Inn.

We hope to have you as our guest again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent a night here before an early flight in the morning. The hotel looks pretty updated and the carpets were nice and clean, and the bed was nice and comfortable. The rate was pretty affordable too at about 50 bucks for this specific night. It is really close to the airport, and there are lots of options available for food just an exit or two away. There is a business center which has printers easily available. Overall it was a nice hotel which I would stay at again for the right price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USFBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for posting comments about your experience at our hotel, we appreciate it ! We try very hard to keep our hotel clean inside and out.

We have a detailed cleaning program for our housekeepers and we are very proud of them and the like-new condition of our rooms. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were able to check in early which was great as we wanted to get started on seeing the sights of KC but is probably why we didn't notice that our room had some issues that weren't apparent until we returned. There was trash under the beds (granola bar wrappers, 1/2 empty bottle of soda, a re-usable water bottle), a musty smell in the room (we turned the a/c up when we left so maybe the odor developed while we were gone) and it was pretty apparent that the vacuuming effort was minimal as there was a good amount of dirt and crumbs around the perimeter of the room & furnishings. The cord for the hair dryer was gray and fuzzy with grime. We would have requested a different room but we were all exhausted from a long day of travel and activities. The hot tub was out of order, as was the ice machine on our floor. The patio off of the pool area was messy and all 3 trash containers were overflowing. The beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and the location was convenient, but I doubt we will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I want to apologize for your experience at our hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we want any of our guests to have. I would like to speak with you personally to learn more.

We want all of our guests to leave our hotel with the feeling of a good value and satisfaction with thier lodging decision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We arrived at 9 pm with a small child very excited to swim before bed only to find a sign on the door of the pool stating the pool was closed. Technically, it was available however the heater had gone out so it was EXTREMELY cold. We were told we could still use the hot tub which we did however it was gross. Slim on the walls of the hot tub and the water was green. I noticed the treadmill also had an "out of order" sign on it. I did ask if we would be permitted to cancel our room without a charge so that we could book at another hotel with a working pool and were denied so we were forced to stay there. My mom poured coffee from the pots in the lobby only to find cold coffee! The room itself was fairly clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. If you only care about the room this would probably be OK but if depending on other amenities I wouldn't recomend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are very sorry that the pool's heater failed. We ordered a new one the same day and it has been replaced. I did inspect the hot tub personally and the cleanliness looks fine. The treadmill also has been repaired with a new electronic push button pad.

We will do better. We want to make this right. Please contact me directly at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#36 of 109 in Kansas City
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport

Address: 11100 N Ambassador Dr, I-29 & 112th Street Exit #12, Kansas City, MO 64153-2013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $80 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for both business and leisure travelers alike, the Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel is two miles from the Kansas City International Airport and offers free airport transportation for its guests with advanced notice. (5:00am-11:00pm)Popular attractions minutes from your guestroom door include:Sprint Arena & Power & Light DistrictDowntown Kansas City - Convention CenterArrowhead(KC Chiefs) Kauffman(Royals) StadiumsWorlds of Fun and Oceans of Fun theme parks Sea Life Aquarium & LEGOLAND Discovery Center Park UniversityAs a guests of Comfort Inn, you will enjoy features like:A 100% Smoke Free hotel.Small Meeting Room. (Call hotel for availabiity)Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access Business & Fitness Center.Saltwater indoor heated pool and hot tub Free local and long distance calls.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at our Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs,sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffles in two flavors!All spacious guest rooms are furnished with 32-inch flat-screen, LCD televisions, coffee makers with free coffee, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards. Guest laundry facilities are located on the premises and dry-cleaning service,(same day) Mon-Fri.The Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel offers warm, inviting and affordable accommodations close to all the best Kansas City has to offer. When you are looking for friendly service, countless features and a great location, make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing