We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“May have Security Issues” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #48 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“May have Security Issues”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I picked this property based on my past experience with Holiday Inn Express. Management did not tell us that there had been break ins the night before. We found out when leaving that our window had been broken out and all property stolen out of vehicle. Desk Clerk tried to help, but manager apparently told him to ignore us. They did not help us in anyway. Leaving us on parking lot for 6 hours in rain. Promised help, but manager went through side door and left, ignoring our request for help cleaning up glass in vehicle. No offer of food or water in the 6 hours. There were no places close by that we could walk to for drinks or food. Customers checking in gave us something to drink. Very bad experience!! Truck next to us broken into. Told that night clerk heard car alarm going off, but apparently decided to do nothing about it!! Couple from Oklahoma told us what to do. They were broken into the night before!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy083012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Nancy083012,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
45
21
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

On our first night here, our car and the car next to us had windows busted out and luggage stolen. While the hotel staff was very helpful in helping us clean up glass and report the vandalism, no offer was made to comp our second night. The second night we stayed, 2 other cars in the lot were vandalized and valuables were stolen. Hotel staff admitted there was a problem and this had happened before, but no mention was made of that at check in. We felt they could have done more as far as giving us money off our room rate, offering priority points for our loss, etc. but none was forthcoming. It cost us $300.00 to repair our car, so all in all, a very expensive stay. Won't go back again for lack of security or concern with guest security.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Debby I,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Checked in late night only to dicover huge spider web in the corner of the room. After further inspection found a couple more in other parts of the room. Due to late check in we did not change rooms. When I explained the situation to the manager, her explaination was it had been very hoy & dry. Which I guess means the housekeepers do not clean when it's hot & dry. The toliet also ran alll the time unless you jiggled the handle. The manger agreed to give me 30 % off my room and credit me with 3,000 priority point. However after following up discovered she only credited me with 2,000 points. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Kelma,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springboro, oh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked this room through Priceline and got an excellent price. The hotel was large and well maintained. Check in was quick and easy and our room was clean and updated. They had a restaurant and a coffee-ice cream shop on the premises. The lobby was modern and comfortable for sitting and relaxing with a free paper. A waterpark was connected to the hotel and the families we saw seemed to enjoy this option. We had no noise complaints once in the room for the night and everything was in good working order. My husband is a light sleeper and appreciated the darkening shades mounted in the windows that blocked the bright morning sun. The breakfast was your standard fare with scrambled eggs and sausages. They had a waffle station and provided fresh strawberries and whipped cream to go with. It was a very nice experience for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are grateful that we have sufficed your standard after having second thought during your check in. We look forward to your next visit in our Hotel soon. Your reviews are of utmost importance to us and we aim to provide nothing less but the best experience for all our guests as you all deserve to have high quality of services for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a new hotel and the quality of the rooms, public areas, etc is just fine. But the management should stay in a hotel once in a while to look at things from the guests' point of view. To summarize, we were there on August 1, 2012 when a city water main broke and the hotel lost water. Keep in mind it was during one of those 100 degree days. This happened during the day, so in the evening, overnight, and even through noon the next day there still was no water. The hotel did not offer bottled water, hand sanitizer, or even extended pool hours to cool down. They just shrugged it off and said it wasn't their fault. Depending on when you checked out, you may have gotten it free, but I held on one more night. So when I did check out, the lady at the desk shunned responsibility and was indifferent about our uncomfortable stay. Note: If you ever become a hotel manager, please empathize with your guests.

Room Tip: The 2-queen suite was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishfarmer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear fishfarmer96,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of water during your stay. We did indeed have a problem that took quite some time to completely repair. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I chose this place as it was close to Kauffman Stadium and it certainly was a quick trip. The service however might keep me from choosing it again. The afternoon clerk seemed overwhelmed at everything and was quite short at nearly every request. I excused it the 1st day due to the fact that they had a large busload of people that had arrived shortly before I did. But the next day it was more of the same thing. I was placed in the basement and getting connectivity to any kind of signal for the internet was spotty. It felt like a dungeon down there. The breakfast was fairly good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieyz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear stevieyz19,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding the internet service and the front desk are very troubling. I'm very sorry that happened but it is not the norm. Rest assured these will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope that you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

As we checked in, the front desk person seemed helpful enough, but once we received our keys and we attempted to find our room we realized he didn't give us any direction as to where our room was. We noticed 031 was the room number. We figured that must be on the main level, it was not. We went back to the front desk and asked where our room was. He said "oh yeah, I forgot to tell you, your room is in the basement." Basement? Really? So as we made our way into our room, we were overwhelmed with a strong mildew smell and a very dark unfriendly ambiance. Surprisingly, this is a handicap room too, is this where they designate their handicapped guests? Unacceptable! We were too tired to see about getting a different room. We crawled in to bed to the sound of plastic crinkling...must have been a water proof mattress cover...for what? We both took showers in the morning and much to our surprise found that the shower flooded the bathroom. Hence, the overwhelming mildew smell? We complained to the front desk and she informed me that "they were aware of the problem and that's just how that room is", with no offer to refund or compensate us for this horrible experience. She even had the nerve to ask me if we were interested in signing up for their Gold Member program for future deals...I plainly responded "not after this experience".

Be forewarned, if you get a basement room, try to change it as quickly as possible. Our room was no where near worth the $150, plus tax we paid for it. I am usually the last person to complain, but this was quite the horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jformobutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear jformobutler,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Please accept my sincerest apology for the overall issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 113 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#59 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
3.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
3.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Address: 8551 E State Route 350, Kansas City, MO 64133-4730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing