We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #51 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Holly
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I chose this place as it was close to Kauffman Stadium and it certainly was a quick trip. The service however might keep me from choosing it again. The afternoon clerk seemed overwhelmed at everything and was quite short at nearly every request. I excused it the 1st day due to the fact that they had a large busload of people that had arrived shortly before I did. But the next day it was more of the same thing. I was placed in the basement and getting connectivity to any kind of signal for the internet was spotty. It felt like a dungeon down there. The breakfast was fairly good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieyz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear stevieyz19,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding the internet service and the front desk are very troubling. I'm very sorry that happened but it is not the norm. Rest assured these will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope that you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
45
23
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

As we checked in, the front desk person seemed helpful enough, but once we received our keys and we attempted to find our room we realized he didn't give us any direction as to where our room was. We noticed 031 was the room number. We figured that must be on the main level, it was not. We went back to the front desk and asked where our room was. He said "oh yeah, I forgot to tell you, your room is in the basement." Basement? Really? So as we made our way into our room, we were overwhelmed with a strong mildew smell and a very dark unfriendly ambiance. Surprisingly, this is a handicap room too, is this where they designate their handicapped guests? Unacceptable! We were too tired to see about getting a different room. We crawled in to bed to the sound of plastic crinkling...must have been a water proof mattress cover...for what? We both took showers in the morning and much to our surprise found that the shower flooded the bathroom. Hence, the overwhelming mildew smell? We complained to the front desk and she informed me that "they were aware of the problem and that's just how that room is", with no offer to refund or compensate us for this horrible experience. She even had the nerve to ask me if we were interested in signing up for their Gold Member program for future deals...I plainly responded "not after this experience".

Be forewarned, if you get a basement room, try to change it as quickly as possible. Our room was no where near worth the $150, plus tax we paid for it. I am usually the last person to complain, but this was quite the horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jformobutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear jformobutler,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Please accept my sincerest apology for the overall issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bugs and live roaches. When night clerk contacted management, management did nothing to help, offered no discounts, another room or anything. The night clerk however, was very helpful, came to the room and examined and confirmed our complaint about cleanliness and the bugs. He personally had no way to help us. He did not have access to a vacuum, bug spray or anything else. He had to contact management who was not present on the hotel site and was given no help. When the night clerk offered a different room, it too was filthy.

No luggage carts on the premises at check-in. Night clerk said they must all be in use. There were none at check-out either. It was difficult to move luggage and keep track of senior citizens.

Ground floor rooms are basement rooms - not lobby level rooms. We had two senior citizens in our group who had a tough time with keeping up.

Poor management. Could see the next morning when cleaning personnel showed up for work why the place was in such a state of uncleanness. Their concern was their free breakfast. The lady that worked in the breakfast room did a super job of keeping food prepared, but the staff was like vultures.

Apparently this particular HI Express does not value its customers - only its paid staff. I have had better value at a nearby Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room - specify lobby level, otherwise you will end up in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear JimR2012,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property. I'm deeply sorry for the overall experience you had during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and comfortable accommodations. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teaneck, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I had an excellent experience when I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex. The stay and the hospitality was out of this world. I would recommend everyone to stay at this hotel and tell them about my excellent experience there. I will give them a definite 5 star review.

Room Tip: My experience was on the 2nd floor so I can say it was very peaceful and quiet just what i needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Anurita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity of providing your accommodation needs.
Your positive review assures us we have made a good effort to ensure our guests are comfortable and have great experience in our Hotel. And thank you for recommending our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staff was nice, got a check in gift as priority club platinum of water and nuts along wih free upgrade to bigger room. The grounds were nice and hotel was clean, bed was nice. A few minor things, I thought a bout giving a 4 rating but given a fair rate and to even out the bad ratings of others that don't seem warranted felt it earned a 5. 1. it is 20 minites away for the action of kansas city, they clearly choose to build here as location was cheap. 2. pool area was bad, it smelled bad, pool was dirty and looked like water had never been changed, down right gross. BUt who really uses the pool, if you want a pool go elsewhere.3. Bathroom tiny, if you jump in shower have to close door first, if wife walks in while you are on stool your knees will be knocked out, given the room size no reason not to make the bathroom bigger. 4. Looks like someone forgot to miss finishing a wood panel--tacky. 5. Microwave didn't work, was unplugged, plugged it in 2 places, still didtn't work-most places don't have one anyway so not a big deal. Felt like place was nicer than a 4 star plaza hotel, good choice to save 50 bucks after all i can park my own car and carry my own stuff and don't need onsite dining. May or may not stay here again. If I don't it is due to location and not because hotel was bad.

Room Tip: Was on top floor far from elevators, noise not an issue, others say it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck29355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for drawing your attention to these problems. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away. We are happy that you appreciate the kind words that you have for our staff. We hope to see you again so that we can provide the quality of service you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We loved our spacious king bed room with kitchenette. It was had a pull-out sofa and it was perfect for our family of 4 (kids didn't mind the sofa sleeper). Our room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The pool was smallish and needed to be cleaned. Breakfast was ok with a pancake machine (kids loved that) but there weren't many healthy choices - no yogurt, no skim milk, only day old bananas for fruit, etc. That was a bit disappointing but it wouldn't keep me from returning again. Overall, a nice quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puglover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Your reviews are of utmost importance to us and we aim to provide nothing less but the best experience for all our guests as you all deserve to have high quality of services for giving us your business. I am sorry about the choices that we provide for breakfast. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Staff was awesome! Room was big, though not as big as other Expresses I've stayed at (the only non-bed seating in our double queen was a desk chair...). Despite being next to the ice machine, we didn't hear it all night (that was a shocker because I know people were using it -- we could hear them going down the hall).

Downside: located on one side of a divided highway, so it was impossible to get to from one direction without doing a turnaround (not like the extra two minutes were that crucial, but still...). Nothing exciting is that close, the tub could have used some new enamel, and the toilet seat was one of those broken ones that slides to the side when you use it, but... for being the "worst" Express I've stayed in, it was still far beyond other hotels in the price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radioactive_piano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Radioactive_piano,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to navigate the roads and the room conditions.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
3.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
#68 of 108 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing