We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run Far Far Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Center Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital Center Inn
Ranked #96 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Hannibal, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Run Far Far Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I check in expected their advertised price it was much higher and I had to pay a deposit on the ,Key the sliding door did not lock told by clerk to use the stick at door to keep it locked, security was not their problem. I went to take a shower noticed there was no rags or towel. clerk told me I had to buy my own and my own ----paper as well,being there for a week I expected a microwave and fridge they never furnish them the tv did not work Noticed water fountains around the place did not work to keep things cold I had to use ice,their ice machine never worked there was people cursing in the hallways with a lot of noise,clerk was very rude.RUN from this had very special family photos that was left by accident, house keeping didn't turn things in my photo's was put out with trash. Run from this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hardhead_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    0
    16
See reviews for
5
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We changed 3 rooms:the first didn't have courtains at the window and was very dirty,the second was Worse,the third was with no towels and NO igenic paper!!when we asked for it they said thant it would take one hour to have it,because they have to buy at the market!!we asked to be refound but they didn't. In the evening we had igenic paper but we spent the all nught in the dark and in the heat because There was no electricity!!the worst place in the world you could stay!!don't go!!i don't know how could it be open!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Hollister, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

When we arrived, the a.c. in the lobby was not working. The clerk gave us our keys and said they might not work. We tried dozens of times, to no avail. He came to help, and also could not open the door. He then went down the hall to another room (which he opened), but IT WAS OCCUPIED!!! He didnt even knock first. So he went and got another set of keys, made us pay a deposit for them and let us in another room. The a.c. was not running when we entered. The light in the bathroom didn't work. The bed is hard as a rock. The cable is approximately 6 channels. There is a coffee maker, but no coffee pot. When we went to use the toilet, there was FECES ON THE TOILET PAPER!!!! Do not stay here under any circumstances, you are better off in your car than at this dump.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcappelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

As a foreigner myself I would like to leave favorable comments since the place is owned by foreigners. This was a bad experience for me. Could not sleep well since bedbugs were everywhere. My key worked 20% of the time. Not a safe place for a woman by herself, strange guys were at my door while i'm trying to get in even though I never saw them in the hallway. The noise level during the overnight hours were horrific. People screaming profanities in their rooms and the hallway. The balcony glass door was broken, lucky for me that I was on the third floor. Just stay away. One night I killed 8 bedbugs on my pillow and 15 on the bed.

Room Tip: n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karkar1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

INFESTED with Bedbugs that's all I'm Going to say....You take it from there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bedbugvictimkcmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

This motel is the most ghetto motel I've ever seen. First off, the lobby area didn't have air conditioning, so we were sweating just checking into our room. The front desk clerk wasn't very friendly, and when we were walking in the motel she was just sitting outside smoking her cigarette with some buddies. Once we got our room key, we TRIED to get in our room. After probably 30 tries, our key did finally work. The room itself did not have the air running when we got into it. We tried to figure out how to run the air conditioning unit, but we couldn't get the cover open to use the thermostat. We went back to the front desk and one of the maintenance guys had to come to our room to assist us. It also took him about 30 tries with his key before he got into our room. He also struggled to get the cover open on the air conditioning unit to turn the air on. Also, the room had a balcony, but the door would not open at all. The room was VERY shady. There were only 2 towels in the bathroom, and there was no shampoo or bar of soap. We quickly decided we didn't want to stay here, and turned around and turned in our keys and found a new motel for the night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NETraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I do not even understand how this place is still open!! I would not recommend anyone to this hotel, even if they were my worst enemy...that's how bad it is! The staff is not friendly at all. The rooms are disguisting. The air was not working properly in the room, so it was very hot in there. The keys to get into the rooms would not work until after about 20 tries. We walked into the room and walked out 5 minutes later. There are definately some shady characters around the hotel too. It is really not safe to be at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 000229454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City South
Courtyard Kansas City South
#48 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Host Inn Plaza Kansas City South
9.5 mi away
Super 8 Lees Summit
Super 8 Lees Summit
#7 of 11 in Lee's Summit
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Center Inn

Property: Capital Center Inn
Address: 6101 E 87th St, Kansas City, MO 64138-2724
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capital Center Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capital Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing