We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and worth a visit”

La Bodega - Kansas City
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bodega - Kansas City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,417 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Waynesville
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing and worth a visit”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was a second visit, and honestly some of group were hesitant, as their main fair is Tapas (small portions). The first visit we just had drinks and snacks. This visit was for dinner and we not disappointed. They offer a wide variety of dishes, and the cool things is you can try many (as they are small portions) and share them as well. They fast, so you can order more as you go. The menu is a little confusing, until you understand what the idea is. I would definitely go back, and I recommend it anyone. Check this cool place out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    91
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We love this restaurant for their tapas and sangria. We go to the south location. They have many choices of tapas. We try different ones each time we go. They also serve full plate meals. We always enjoy the choices they offer. We like to go on Sundays, they offer 1/2 price on their sangria and have Spanish dancers with Spanish music. Always fun. Service is good. Reasonably priced. Beautiful decor. Atmosphere is good. Nice out outdoor patio area. If you like tapas this is the place for you. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank poppy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
680 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“excellent quality and pleasant, upscale atmosphere; can get very pricey if you're really hungry”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The quality of food is exceptional here. I have tried a number of their dishes and can't recall a single one I didn't like. They have a nice variety of tapas all the time and at lunch have some entrees. I tried a chicken entree this last visit and it was up to their high standards--it was delicious and superb and was under $15. I had a Spanish beer with it which was also delicious. The atmosphere here is upscale and yet casual at the same time. Service has always been efficient, friendly and professional and reasonably fast. The only downside here is that tapas portions are typically fairly small and with each tapas dish approaching $10, the tab can really skyrocket if you're pretty hungry. I don't know what a typical tapas place would actually be like in Spain, but this place feels fairly authentic in its decor. I really like this place. It is located just underneath the I-35 bridge on Southwest Boulevard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very customer friendly”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Happy hour starts at 2 pm daily and there is a wine special every Monday. First visit and it will not be my last. Loved the decor and the wait staff and manager were super friendly. The atmosphere has a great vibe Parking was very close, free, and off the road (the location is on a busy street and it was nice to have off the road parking). The food was very good! I can't wait to share this place with friends. Very enjoyable visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed selections from the tapas menu for dinner al fresco on a recent perfect summer evening. We were delighted to see that this restaurant was dog friendly within their sidewalk seating section. Our favorite tapas was the goat cheese served with garlic crostinis (Queso de Cabra al Horno). Above all, really friendly staff, especially our waitress, Lindsey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xogenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega - Kansas City also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to La Bodega - Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing