We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and upscale”
Review of Chaz on the Plaza

Chaz on the Plaza
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaz on the Plaza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,424 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wornall
Description: Our Kansas City Plaza restaurant's charming atmosphere is enhanced by modern American cuisine & live music performed nightly and from 10 am - 1 pm during Weekend Jazz Brunch Saturdays and Sundays. Menus at the hotel's Chaz Restaurant in Kansas City reflect regional bounty & the culinary team's creativity. Cuisine is complemented with a Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list, domestic and imported beers, cocktails, spirits, single malt Scotch and Bourbons, and a selection of liqueurs and ports.
KC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and upscale”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I went to Chaz for our anniversary and we had a great time. The food was very good and the service was great. We normally would not go to a place like that because it is pretty pricey but it was for a special occasion so we thought we would treat ourselves and we were not disappointed. We definitely recommend if you're not too worried about the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DOS_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Chaz Guests,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for sharing your special night with us, and for sharing all your great comments with everyone! Please come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    86
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A friend of ours chose Chaz on the Plaza for dinner for our weekly Saturday night date night- initially I was excited. We get out frequently in the KC metro area but had only had Chaz for breakfast over a year ago. The host, (Maybe a mgr?) was very friendly when seating us and gave a table next to the window with a nice view of the Plaza. Overall, the decor is tasteful and the restaurant feels very quaint. It was packed and had a Beatles tribute band playing. While we knew they have live music on the weekends, it was very hard to hold a conversation. The waitress never told us her name and now I know why. Service was slow, we had to ask for bread, (the other tables around us all had it) a request for a beer was met with irritation, the food was mediocre and my steak was not cooked to my liking. ( I had been very clear about wanting it extra, extra, extra rare.) Once my steak was presented, it was the host who took it back and had another prepared for me. The server never acknowledged it. At the end of the meal we were never offered dessert. Our bill was over $250. I could've gone to Capital grille or J. Gilberts and experienced TOP NOTCH service instead. Next time I will!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allisonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear recent Chaz Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing the unfortunate dining experience you recently endured. While we normally pride ourselves in our cuisine as well as our service, I am very sorry we did provide you a better experience. I promise that we will focus on your comments with all the staff involved, in order that we can give attention to the details you desribed. I only wish our Manager would have had the opportunity at the time to have corrected and responded to these issues.

Again thank you for your input and your patience, I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence agaain in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant is located in The Raphael Hotel. The staff is excellent and they do have live music on the weekends in the lounge. The breakfast was the best!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Chaz Breakfast Guests,

Thank you for your recent patronage to Chaz at the Raphael Hotel. And thank you so much for sharing your kind comments regarding your Excellent Breakfast, this is extremely helpful to share with all of our staff. Please plan on returning again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Charming Chaz”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here several times during our stay because of the great service and food. Appetizers worth ordering: crab cake and shrimp and grits Main dishes: salmon or scallops Dessert: Nectarine and Blueberry Pecan Crisp (which was recommended by our waiter).
As others have mentioned, you can enjoy the live music from the bar and the ambiance is quite romantic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Charming Chaz Guests,

Can we borrow your terminology? We think it is a perfect description for Chaz! Most importantly thank you for your wonderful comments and sharing them with us and the rest of the world. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby Line, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Slice of Elegance in Mid-America”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Located in the Raphael Hotel, Chaz on the Plaza provides a quiet and tastefully decorated retreat for those seeking fine food and drink in the upscale Plaza neighborhood of Kansas City. With a separate ground level entrance and immediately adjacent to Brush Creek, free valet parking is available which gets things off to an easy and promising start. Not overly extensive, the menu features well prepared and presented regional and seasonal specialties, with a good choice of seafood. The server was knowledgeable and pleasant, if a bit overly detailed in his descriptions. My wife declared the Chilean sea bass to be among the best fish dishes she has had this year - and she loves fish and we dine out a lot. The wine list, though not large, was adequate, with by the glass servings in the $7-$10 range. An added attraction is the presence of live music in the evening, adding a convivial flair to an all around very favorable experience..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Slice of Elegance,

Thank you so much for all your kind words regarding your dining experience at Chaz ! We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts. I promise we will share them with all the associates who make it all possible. Please plan on returning soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaz on the Plaza also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Chaz on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing