We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that Jazz”
Review of Phoenix Jazz Club

Phoenix Jazz Club
Ranked #147 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Soups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All that Jazz”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went to the Phoenix to listen to the Jazz on Tuesday evening. It was jam night and they had great music and really good food. I was surprised. I had the portobello fries as an appetizer and they were awesome and the create your own burger that was scrumptous. Quite an enjoyable evening for not a big expenses.
Highly recommend it if you like music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock Inn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stopped By For My Birthday”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

What can I say.Great happy hour, great live jazz. Bar tenders are awesome. Did I say great happy hour? I love their martini's and have tried them all. I recommend the lemon drop. Excellent food, lobster mac & cheese anyone? Be sure to check out the back patio if you want to sit outside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DataGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Be careful with your Groupons here”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Whoever was managing tonight would not honor our Groupon we bought, although there were NO EXCLUSIONS on the Groupon. Apparently it is up to management discretion. We had a few drinks, one appetizer and would have stayed for more but decided to spend our money elsewhere. Just an FYI - the acousticas are still bad and the place is very loud so it's hard to have a conversation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itgal103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great live jazz acts”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Went on a first date to the Phoenix. I hadn't been here in 20 years or so. Still easy to find. Parked on the street around the corner and felt safe. Come early to get a good table. Not a lot of things offered on the dinner menu, but what is is fairly tasty. The wines are quite delicious! Service was good - out waitress knew when to interrupt and when to barge in ;o) Also, the act that night was phenomenal! Yeah, while she sang, we had to huddle close to talk to each other, but is that so bad? She had an amazing voice that neither one of us could take our ears away from! I am definitely going back - definitely checking out other acts and ther days of the week!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KorriBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must visit attraction...”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We live in downtown KC and had never visited--our bad. This jazz bar is a true gem.

Let's start with the pros. The service was outstanding. Our waitress made sure our cups were always full, no matter how packed the restaurant got she paid plenty of attention to us. The atmosphere was classic. Dim lighting and exposed brick set the scene as live jazz entertained us all night. The quality of the jazz was excellent. The first band played revisions of the classics, Route 66, That's Life, O When the Saints, Moondance, Let It Be and more. At one point my wife said that her cheeks hurt from smiling and laughing so much.

The only down side was that food was bar food, but you don't go to a Jazz bar for the food, so I didn't consider this much of a minus. Couple that with the cheap prices and you really couldn't complain too much. (~$8 for a sandwhich/entre)

Over all I can't verbalize well enough how great our experience here was. The music was top notch, the drinks were cold and always full, and our bill for a long 5 hour night of live entertainment was well under $90 after tip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmightypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Jazz Club also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing