We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night life/Sprint Center proximity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Right in the middle of it all, Very clean, older property, but accomadations, i.e. beds, tv,s showers etc very well kept. Very friendly staff. Very easy access from highway as well as access to parking garage with valet service. restaurant on premisis but 5 monute walk to Power/Light districe and 10 to sprint center.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear jteal,

Thank you for being our guest. You can't beat our location for enjoying the night life that downtown Kansas City has to offer. I am glad you enjoyed our accommodations and our friendly staff. We look forward to being at your service again on your next visit.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 800 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This past August my small nonprofit had our national training conference at the Crowne Plaza. I have planned many conferences before and worked with lots of hotels. This hotel was the best hotel I have ever worked with. The staff were VERY accommodating and professional. All of our needs were met and we never had to ask twice. Our biggest concern was internet and they made sure it kept humming the whole time. I even learned later that they made their own staff go off the wireless so that our attendees had faster connections. This was all done without me knowing. The hotel is very clean and updated. Our meals were fabulous (Make sure to get the BBQ). If you are planning a meeting the upstairs ballroom has wonderful views and it really made our banquet special. Thank you Crowne Plaza! Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Emily Z,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. We appreciate the opportunity to host your group and, as always, appreciate your business. I am glad you enjoyed dining with us and I will pass your comments about the BBQ along to our Chef.

We look forward to hosting your group again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I frequently spend our weekends in KC, and we ALWAYS stay at this hotel. The staff is courteous, professional and extremely accomodating. The rooms are always clean, and housekeeping is very responsive to any requests for more towels, toiletries, etc. On our last visit, we accidentally left an item behind that was irreplaceable, but we didn't realize it until we arrived home. I immediately called the hotel and spoke w/ an associate by the name of Robert Hudson. Realizing how upset I was at losing something so important to me, he personally went up to our room that we'd vacated a few hours before and searched the room for the item. He found it and had it shipped via FedEx to our home. When I called the next day to give get the tracking number for the shipment, another associate by the name of Calvin advised that Robert was out of the office for the week, but he took ownership of the issue - even though he didn't have a way to get an update until Robert's return, Calvin followed up with me for two consecutive days to let me know that he hadn't forgotten about me.
The level of service that these two gentlemen provided to me and my family is unparalleled. Crowne Plaza is doing something right - Robert and Calvin are assets to this staff! We look forward to seeing them again on our next trip to KC for a weekend getaway! Thank you both, Robert and Calvin! You made a sentimental woman VERY happy by returning this precious momento.
Jennifer H

Room Tip: The suites are totally worth the extra room, working space and sink/refrigerator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I'm glad you found our service to be "Top Notch" and that we were able to assist you with your lost item. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Kansas City.

Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came to KC for weekend of fun and relaxation and recieved just that. We were originally going to stay at the Marriott but they were hosting a convention. We then tried the Aladdin Holiday Inn whom were also not able to accommodate us and referred us to the Crown Plaza. As soon as we approached the desk Kenneth Garner was so eager to assist us. He was super friendly and definitely went out of his way to to assist us. And we stayed in a totally amazing suite!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Monique L,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and recognizing our great staff. I hope you had a weekend of fun and relaxation and we were able to assist you with that. The next time you travel to Kansas City we hope to have you back as our guest again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The service, cleanliness and Starbucks were great!! Unfortunately the walls are paper thin and we heard partying people til 4am up and down halls, slamming doors, yelling, etc. Our sleep was interrupted many times. Luckily our children slept through it. The location was great otherwise. Our kids were so tired from legoland anyway they didn't seem phased. Oh well. The service lifted our spirits, and for coffee fanatics like us, the Starbucks was perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2boysmomstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear 2boysmomstl,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the service, cleanliness and Starbucks at the hotel. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by other guests being too loud. Hopefully our hotel security got them to quiet down.

We look forward to having you back again the next time you visit Kansas City.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A huge thank you to Kenneth Garner who helped us at the front desk! As a Platinum Priority Club Member Kenneth went out of his way to ensure we were given the perks of our platinum status! Initially, I hadn't identifed I am a members and when he learned that (eventhough there was a busy front desk) he looked up my number, changed all of our keys and gave us access to the executive lounge. Much appreciated cocktail hour and breakfast. Thanks Kenneth, all the front desk staff and executive lounge wait staff. You were all very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 139HollieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear 139HollieB,

Thank you for recognizing one of our Guest Service Representatives. I am glad we lived up to your expectations and you were able to enjoy the perks of being a Platinum Club member at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the Kansas City area.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Easy walking distance to the Sprint Center, Convention Center, and the Power and Light District. Plenty of great place to eat and meet with friends all. The Staff was super friendly and never hesitated to ask if there was anything they could do to simply make our trip easier and more fun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJHoffnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear PJHoffnet,

Thank you for your review of your past stay here at the Corwne Plaza Kansas City. I'm glad to hear you found our location to be right in the middle of where you wanted to be. I hope we were able to make your trip easier and more fun as well.

The next time you travel to Kansas City, we hope you will be our guest again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 109 in Kansas City
547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
1.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $197 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing