We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$172
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$93
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

816 Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$144
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$280
$239
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$206
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fontaine(Kansas City)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveler rating
373
271
145
84
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
271
145
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower and light districtfront desksprint centermusic hallthe executive loungeking suitevalet parkingtwo blockshotel staffupon checkan older hotelshuttle serviceroxanneconventionplazaconcertbellman
Filter
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 928 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Recently attended a concert at the Sprint Center. This hotel is within walking distance to the Sprint Center and the Convention Center as well as Power and Light area with restaurants. The room was very nice and comfortable. Hotel has Starbucks in the lobby and a bar and restaurant. The restaurant does not offer quick service. The atmosphere is very business like.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiesta1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed twice at this hotel by myself for a weekend visit to a local yoga studio. The hotel is very affordable given it's downtown location. I stay in the executive suite, it was located on the 26th floor with access to the executive lounge offering complementary continental breakfast. The suites are nice offering refridgerator and living room space, although this is only in the suites. Parking is a bit pricey at around $12 or $13 per day. During busy times it can be a long wait for an elevator. The staff were helpful. There is a Starbuck's coffee in the lobby. The Starbucks does not post their hours and if you go by the hours listed on the Starbuck's website you may miss them. I didn't use the pool or gift shop. I did order some sweet potato fries from the restaurant one evening and they were delicious. I have more weekend visits planned in the future and I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enj0ying_the_M0ment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed the suite. You can't beat the views from the 26th floor. I appreciate your comments about our staff and our Executive Club Lounge. I will pass along your compliments on our sweet potato fries to the Chef. Our Starbucks is open everyday from 6am until 8pm, with the exception of Sundays, when it is opened 7am until 6pm. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Jim Wynn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Downtown location is ideal for the Convention Center. Rooms were top knotch with "sleep number" beds, quality linens and towels. The elevators were fast and staff was courteous and helpful. Maid service was first rate. WIFI internet was included for NO additional charge - getting to be a rarity these days!
The hotel restaurant served very good food, however, the service could be better. We had to flag down the waiter for drink refills and even the check. There are several fine restaurants within a short walking distance.
Their "gift shop" is poor and only open until 6 pm. Pool is outside which is nice if you like to swim under the sun.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerofog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I am glad you felt our houskeeping staff was first rate. We think they are first rate too. Thank you for dining in our restaurant, we get a lot of compliments on our food, but I apologize that our service did not meet your expectations. We hope to have to back as our guest the next time you visit Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Jim Wynn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for a convention and had two double beds in the room, both sleep number beds. Neither worked (arrived late the first night). Requested them to be fixed the next morning, but had to ask again in the afternoon because nothing had happened. Asked a third time after two nights of uncomfortable sleep, and finally a maintenance person came to check them. Also FINALLY at the third request, the front desk person apologized for the beds not working. What can a hotel really offer other than a good night's sleep? We did better in the motels we stayed at on the way here at a fraction of the price. Note: They hold $25 / day on your credit card for incidentals. There's no refrigerator in the room. There's no safe either. In summary, poor, lackadaisical service at the hotel which spills right over to the Starbucks located in the lobby. Not one of them is making an effort to create a good impression of Kansas CIty !

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with the Sleep Number beds, and that they were not fixed in a timely manner. I will be sure to address this issue with the maintenance and front office staff. Once again, I apologize that your stay did not measure up to our high service and quality standards, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back and provide the level of service you expect from Crowne Plaza Hotels.

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Love staying here and will keep coming back but this trip, we missed our "sleep number" beds. Now I know to ask for this. The comforters on our beds were NOT clean and the City Grille was a nightmare...horrible service, took forever and NOT BUSY! Not the usual for this great hotel. We will remain loyal Priority Club guests and will stay here for both hospital stays AND fun times.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabesmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback and for your loyalty to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am so sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations from previous experiences. I apologize for the slow service you experienced in the restaurant, and I have passed along your comments to the staff. Thank you for being a Priority Club member, and we hope to see you again for a leisure stay soon in order to make this right.

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews