We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Columbus, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

It was a clean, very comfortable room for an excellent value. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Since I was alone, tired, and not very hungry, a snack from the Pantry was perfect. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sambqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments so others can read about your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you found the hotel to be clean and a good value.

Our Candlewood Cupboard is a great amenity with our guests to purchase a meal or in your case, just a snack.

We appreciate your business and hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
6
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I had made a reservation for me, hubby and dog. Upon checking was told dog's stay ( for 1 nite ) was $125! That wasn't identified on the website so I said forget it and proceeded to seek other accommodations. Since it was after midnight & we were leaving that morning, the clerk waved the fee so we stayed there. The rooms were nice, clean and we had a comfortable sleep. I later checked on that $125 pet fee and found the fee was only $20 per nite, $75 per week with a max of $150. Glad I didn't give in to extortion & all ended well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give a review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time
to let others know about your experience at our hotel.

I went to our web site to double check the information about our Pet Policy. We can not speak to what is on "other " web sites as the information is not provided by us. The information provided on our site was correct. 50 pound limit, per pet, cost per night is $20 per pet. And as we are a extended- stay hotel, we limit the expense to no more that $150 per stay. We are sorry about the confusion.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Convenient, Clean, Comfortable~! I was blown away at this find. The Front Desk Clerk was super from the time I called to find a room 3 hours away to checking me in and having just the room she told me I would have. I would LOVE to find this kind of place in ALL my travels. Thanks for a Great 3 day stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We really do appreciate you doing so and letting others see your comments. We strive to be a clean, well run extended-stay hotel. My team takes pride in keeping the hotel sparkling clean.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Kansas City !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very clean hotel, close to airport but shuttle doesn't starttill 5am but driver is always there early if needing to go sooner. All the extras you need for a long stay also. free washer/dryer,grill outside kitchen and full size frige. Windows open for the freash air also. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We thank you for posting these nice comments about our hotel, we appreciate it! Our airport shuttle starts at 5:00am and runs till 11:00pm at night. We do have very prompt and dependable van drivers which is very important as our first airport shuttle always has guests
going to the airport early each morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on August 14 - 15, 2012.

The hotel was easy to see on the interstate, but is not marked on the interstate signs that list lodging at the various exits.

Upon arrival, I was disgusted to see staff smoking right out front of the door. Being a non-smoker, this is a turnoff for me. I do believe that that staff person was off duty.

When walking in, I was greeted as a Platinum Priority Club member, and thanked for my loyalty. I was given the keys to my room, and went in.

Everything in my room was clean, comfortable, and in working condition. I greatly appreciate the over abundance of outlets that are in the room.

The bed was comfortable, with pillows that worked for me! Blackout curtains in the room kept the light out. The airconditioning in the room worked well.

While there, I did do laundry (as this is free to all guests). One washing machine was full of HAIR! I did not use that one. Of the remaining two, one obviously needed some attention to the fabric softner dispenser, as it was very clogged. Dryers worked well.

Upon checkout, I was once again thanked for my loyalty, and greeted by name. I will return to this hotel when I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirlinesOfWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As a IHG platinum member, you are one of our "special" guests. I will show your comments to my housekeeping staff regarding the condition you found our guest laundry in. That should never happen, and I am sorry that you found it that way.

Regarding you seeing a off-duty associate smoking in front of the hotel, we will address that immediately and should never have happened. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel brand. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel located near the airport (1 exit before) and is super convenient when I drive in to stay over before catching my next day flight. En route, there are a couple of gas stations nearby that are perfect for rental car fill-ups. The Candlewood is in a row of several hotels--its sign is actually pretty far back from the road so you have to look for it when coming in.

Staff is polite and responsive. My room is always clean and comfortable. I did have a problem with the honor system pantry that took a phone call to resolve, but it was taken care of promptly. (Next time, I'll pay cash at the front desk and not charge anything to the room.) For its rate and proximity to MCI, it's a great value and plan return visits as long as my business is bringing me through KC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzmina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We thank you for your nice comments regarding our Candlewood Suites. We are the new owners as of April 1, 2012. Our sign is back from the street a little farther than we would like,
however, regarding placement, it's a local city ordinance.

I'm glad that you had the chance to visit our Candlewood Cupboard. It's a great place to find a meal or a late evening snack. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great bargain priced hotel near KC Airport. Very large rooms, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed its location, easy to get to airport the next day, they have a free shuttle if needed, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Will return if ever back in KC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashbridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. Candlewood Suites is another great IHG hotel brand for extended-stay guests. We will continue to keep it sparkling clean and look for other ways to improve our service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kansas City Airport-KCI East
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
#43 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#36 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport
Address: 11110 N Ambassador Dr, I-29 & 112th Street - Exit #12, Kansas City, MO 64153-2013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport is the area's newest all-suite hotel, conveniently located just two miles away from the airport, we offer a free shuttle, (5:00am-11:00pm) If Kansas City is your destination for business, the hotel is located near Delaval, Midland Brake, Weber, General Motors,Fort Leavenworth and many more.Minutes from your guest room door are some of Kansas City's biggest attractions: Zona Rosa Shopping, Sprint Arena / Power & Light District, Downtown KC and the Convention Center. Legoland and Discovery Aquarium, Arrowhead & Kauffman Stadiums Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized desk with executive chair and free high-speed Internet access. Check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the comfortable recliner while you enjoy the CD & DVD players. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, experience Midwest's finest Hospitality at the Candlewood Suites-Kansas City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kansas City Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing