We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1812 Overture B&B Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1812 Overture B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kansas City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1812 Overture B&B
Save
You added 1812 Overture B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1812 Overture B&B Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister, my son, and I go on vacation every year during Spring Break. This year we had the pleasure of staying at the 1812 Overture Bed And Breakfast. The place is fabulous and the people there are warm, welcoming, and interesting. The decor is awesome and each room has it's own theme. The house was built in the 1800's and has lots of good energy. It sits on "Irish Hill" and since we are part Irish, we loved this! We stayed in the Guatamale room and right away we noticed the great artwork and realized that the artist actually worked here and was right downstairs. All of us agreed that this was one of the best places we had ever stayed and we highly recommend it! Thanks, Luke and Pedro!

Kathy, Mary Lynn, and James Griffin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm glad we visited KC and stayed here, but ...I guess the only problem the "private bath" wasn't in our room, but down the hall and we had the key. Otherwise, great company, easy walk to union station, fun decor, easy to get to off the interstate. It does have on street parking-but that was no problem either.

Room Tip: aztec room? asian room? was the one with the "private bath"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougandbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We loved staying at this bed and breakfast. The decor is fascinating. Pedro and Luke were wonderful hosts. Being right in the downtown area is a plus, too. I would definitely go back. This place made our stay in Kansas City, already a good experience, all the better.

Room Tip: We loved the Guatemala-themed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have stayed twice at the 1812 Overture, both in the Guatelman room. The house is really fun and jam packed with antiques and knick knacks. Luke and Pedro are great inkeepers, warm funny and great cooks to boot. Love the outside hot tub and the fact that you can bring your dog with advance notice. Breakfast and snacks are excellent. Only drawback is the room we stayed in is on the third floor with a long haul up two flights of stairs. Would highly recommend it but try to get on the second floor if stairs are challenging for you

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cammy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The downstairs is lovely. The room itself was not up to B&B standards for me. I felt like I was in a guest room that needed some sprucing up and cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kisawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed at the 1812 Overture during the recent NCAA Tournament games in Kansas City. The 1812 is conveniently located, only about a 10-15 minute walk to downtown. Parking is easy, with plentiful close spots on the street when I visited, and there is also a surface lot next door. The house itself is amazing, and has been crammed full of antiques. We stayed in the Guatemalan suite, on the top floor, which was charmingly decorated. Luke and Pedro, the innkeepers, are very friendly, and fix you eggs your way every morning. There is a jacuzzi out back and a friendly resident dog who enjoys attention. The only drawback to the Guatemalan suite is that it can be hard to regulate the temperature, there is one skylight in the back you can open to let in fresh air. And, like most bed and breakfasts, bring earplugs if noises wake you up, especially for the two upstairs apartments (the Guatemalan is one of these), as the wall between these two seems especially thin. Overall, though, I would still strongly recommend this as a great place to stay in KC.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Departure77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

The 1812 Overture is a three-story Victorian brick house situated on a hill overlooking downtown. The views of downtown from the front porch are magnificent at night. The minute I walked up the stairs and entered the vestibule, I was enthralled. The house is an eclectic mix of Victoriana, cowboy sculpture, and Japanese porcelain. Built in the 1880s, the house has the original hand-painted flower wallpaper along with Japanese-themed wall covering sporting mountains, cliffs and oceans. Luke and Pedro, the innkeepers, have done an incredible job of combining the whimsical with the original and the two downstair parlors, separated by carved wooden pocket doors, are stuffed full of collectibles.

Rooms are available either with shared bath or with baths in the room. My room was on the top floor and was plain and functional, with furniture that seemed like it might have been bought at a second-hand store. The bathroom was across the hall and was large. There were some toiletries, although nothing fancy. There are other rooms that were more attractively furnished and if I was returning, I would opt for one of those. There was a simple continental breakfast served each morning in the dining room: fruit, cold and hot cereal, bagels and coffee.

Luke and Pedro, the two innkeepers, are warm, friendly and welcoming which added to the pleasure of my trip. I only wish that I had more time to hang out in the parlor, relaxing and listening to the Sara McLaughlin music playing in the background. For anyone traveling to Kansas City who needs to be close to downtown, I would recommend staying here if you are are willing to forego some of the luxury one expects during business travel. The 1812 is an experience you will not forget and will leave you with fond memories of your stay in Kansas City.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKG94061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.7 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#27 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton President Kansas City
#17 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#38 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1812 Overture B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1812 Overture B&B

Property: 1812 Overture B&B
Address: 1812 Washington St., Kansas City, MO
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing