We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I hoped it would be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped it would be!”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

It was so fun! We went there for my boyfriends birthday/valentines day. Everything turned out great. All the ammenties in the romance package made the whole experience worthwhile. And then being so close to all the resturants and shopping on the plaza was great. We walked to Houstons and the dinner was perfect. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LansingButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    126
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
152
397
37
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
topeka, ks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I planned to come up to the Plaza from Topeka, KS for Valentines day and to go to the Capital Grille (which was amazing and you need to go to; read my review) and to stay here. The entire hotel seems to be pretty clean and nice considering its age. We got a presidential suite to be fancy for our date night. The room was everything we expected from the description online; nice big tub, a neat walk-in shower, very comfortable king-sized bed, it was very nice. The little bit of contact with staff we've had, has been very good with nice friendly people. When we came back from our meal at about 8:30, they had two fire pits outside where people were standing around with wine glasses, which seemed pretty fun! I especially like the remote blinds/curtains on the windows :) The only thing I have to complain about is that we ordered a cheese tray for room service from their Chaz restaurant. In the menu it cost $7, but after all of the charges (which the menu states, but I didn't realize it'd be so much) it came to almost $16! Plus, the tray only had seven, yes seven, pieces of cheese! So at about $2 per piece of tiny cheese...I'm not happy about with that, no matter how fancy the cheese is. Just wasn't what we were expecting. But that's probably more against Chaz, and not the hotel, so I still gave 5 out of 5 instead of 4 :) But all in all, it was a nice little getaway!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawgpound1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

An A+ hotel with emenities galor (weather report in the evening for the next day weather, mint, and turn down service). Location of hotel is close to shopping, eating, and night time entertainment complex (movie theater close by). Area map available with over 40 shops,etc. Staff greet you regularly and are extremely helpful. Helped arrange transportation (executive car). Room was spectacular - junior suite with jucazzi and walk in shower. Blinds/curtains were electronic. Living room with coffee/tea was nice since it was seperated from living quarters. Would stay in this hotel again and again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travel2much4work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Raphael!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The Raphael Hotel is a classic city hotel in the European style. Our room overlooking the Country Club Plaza was lovely and large, yet somehow cozy at the same time. The decor was traditional and reminds one of other classic hotels like the Greenbrier in West Virginia and the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. The bath was spacious and well appointed, and all was very clean. The room and bath contained fine amenities like one would expect in a hotel of this type, and an extra-nice touch was the pretty bag containing the daily paper that was hung on the door each morning. We greatly appreciated the free parking in the lot behind the hotel, and we were terrifically surprised by how much we enjoyed the restaurant, Chaz (an unfortunate name for a fine restaurant), for breakfast. How wonderful to find a concise menu containing just the right breakfast items, attentive service, and elegant decor--a most welcome antidote to those awful breakfast buffets found in far too many hotels these days. We will definitely make the Raphael our home-away-from-home when traveling to Kansas City.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments and thank you for staying at the Raphael!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our stay was delightful. However, upon checkin, our room wasn't ready (although we were promised early check-in.) The front desk staff happily offered a free room upgrade, which was nice. We apprecrated the personal touches throughout our stay. When I made our online reservation, I mentioned that I was celebrating my husband's birthday as the reason for our stay. From start to finish, we received birthday greetings from staff (upon check-in, complimentary bottle of wine, birthday card, and chocolates to room). I appreciated the follow-up phone calls to our room from staff, checking that room and room service was up to our expectations. The only minor suggestion I have is that it would've been nice to have a glass of ice water included with our room service. Bed was cozy; nice view. All staff we encountered were cheery and cordial. We've already recommended this hotel to friends and family and will definitely stay here again. No wonder it's rated a top hotel worldwide. It's a Kansas City gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

As I had never been to Kansas before I thought I would check out what people were writing about where to stay in Kansas. The Raphael had mainly positive comments hence my stay. What a beautiful hotel. Service amazing location amazing rooms beautiful. I loved my stay in Raphael . It is a small boutique hotel which I loved. Only negative I could say is dont order the sorbet for dessert from the restaurant. As all you receive is 3 small spoonfulls.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments I will review your impressions of the sorbet with our Executive Chef.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Raphael one night between Christmas and New Years. It was our second time there. Our key did not open our room, requiring another trip to the front desk. The toilet seat was loose.The refrigerator in the sitting room was so loud that I unplugged it in order to watch TV. The volume control on the bedside radio was stuck in one position that was too loud to comfortably listen to.
I would have told them about these issues at checkout but I wasn't asked how our stay was. The treadmills in the fitness center are in good shape, Startracs with the built in TV's, but we just didn't feel the love this time, especially for @$200 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidniteCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
I am so sorry you we were disappointed with your stay at the Raphael. Please contact me to directly so I may personally address your concerns.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
General Manager
816.802.2130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#8 of 108 in Kansas City
2,205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing