We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Place to Stay While in KC.....Superlative Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the Place to Stay While in KC.....Superlative Service!”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Dear Raphael Team & Trip Advisor Viewers,

My experience at the Raphael was absolutely amazing! I encountered outstanding service, excellent food and great entertainment; this hotel is the perfect choice for a weekend get-a-way or business.

It is truly a first-class operation, with an excellent location and within budget means!

It offers a refinement and culture to your travel experience and is a cut-above the customary/traditional hotel brand.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicePresidentSales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    126
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
395
37
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is beautiful, and such a steal. Great location, great price. The rooms are flawless. This would be a five-star, except the woman who oversees the late-evening/night shift (Joan?) is SUPER-rude. Very non-accommodating and condescending. Nevertheless, the rest of the staff are wonderful, and the hotel is a gem. Just be sure to check in early! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLTravelerbsff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. We are truly sorry your stay did not live up to the standard for which Raphael is known. I would love to discuss your stay in further detail. Please feel free to provide me your contact information or call me.

Best regards,

Kathryn Phillips
Director of Guest Services
816-802-2135
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our 2Q suite had large bedroom plus beautiful living room, and a closet in both bedroom and bath area. Shower/stool area is separate from sink with large counter plus a vanity. This was great space for husband, wife and 19-year old daughter. All of the staff was friendly and helpful -- at check-in receptionist upgraded us to suite when she learned we were celebrating 30-year anniversary. Valet parking service was quick and free, in addition to free self-park option. Just 1 block walk to Country Club Plaza with upscale shops and dining. It reached 100 degrees in KC during our visit but both room temp and humidity were well-controlled. We were told hotel was totally redone last year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We are spending 2 nights in KC and found the Raphael in trip advisor. What a super choice. It is lovely, comfortable, and quiet. The staff is polite and helpful. We have a 9th floor suite overlooking the Plaza and couldn't be happier. We walked to breakfast, lunch, and dinner and shopped in Country Club Plaza. A great place to stay in KC!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Once again, my favorite Kansas City hotel delivered a thoroughly enjoyable experience. On arrival there was a jazz trio playing in the courtyard. The porter and front desk welcomed us with sincere smiles and good service. The rooms are upscale casual in soothing green and yellow with flat screen TV and pod coffeemaker. The squeeky clean bathroom with white/chrome luxury fixtures and high quality tile are a delight. Ahhh... I relax and smile. We enjoy a sunset stroll of the plaza and then listen to great jazz at Chaz (the hotel restaurant). After a good nights rest, the smile remains on my face as we check-out. Our short stay has restored my soul and I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderfulWorld59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My weekend at the Raphael was fabulous! My group had the "Girlfriends Getaway" Package which we jokingly called the "Girls Gone Wild" package and it included lots of perks! We were thrilled with this package so check out their website for details and the great price! We loved the newly redecorated beautiful 2-bedroom suite on the 2nd Floor. We had a spacious living area between the bedrooms with a dining table, desk, sleeper sofa and large TV. The hotel staff was very friendly and wanted to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. We also ordered room service and the food was fresh and delicious. The morning we departed we had breakfast in the Chaz restaurant (included with our package) and it was perfect! Even our breakfast waitress was delightful! I never take the time to write reviews but I stay in 5-star hotels frequently and would recommend this hotel to all my friends. My only complaint was that housekeeping seemed understaffed. The rooms are VERY VERY CLEAN but it would have been even more relaxing if they would hire a larger housekeeping staff. Overall I would give the Raphael Hotel an A++++ rating! Perfect weekend! : )

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHollyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Raphael shortly after the renovation of the restaurant. It was absolutely perfect. We had about 175 guests and there was room to mingle and dance. The food was delicious and hot and nothing was ever out of stock. The waitstaff was efficient and friendly. That night, we stayed upstairs and were blown away. The room (actually bedroom, living area and bathing area) was beautiful and enormous! We bathed in the spa tub and showered in the walk-in shower. From our room we could see the entire Plaza and Brush Creek below. In the morning, we had a gourmet breakfast in the restaurant. The bell hops were super our entire stay. Truly, we couldn't have dreamed of a more perfect first night as husband and wife.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbbd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
614 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Marriott, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing