We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in KC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Conway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in KC!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

When my husband and I are going to Kansas City and have the time to stay awhile, we stay at Hotel Raphael. We stayed this past weekend and the experience was wonderful, as always. Everyone is so friendly. We stayed in a suite that even had a partial plaza view, even though it was not advertised as such. We had a mini-fridge which was so handy and the parking and wifi are complimentary with the room.

Green Features: We were given the opportunity to not have our sheets changed but our towels were replaced -- we could have easily used them one more day.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Carolyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 20Carolyn10,

Thank you for your very kind review and your recent patronage, we certainly feel honored to be your "favorite hotel in KC"! We will hard to retain that title, so please count on us on your next trip back. We will look forward to your return...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    124
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
147
391
37
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our family stayed here on a road trip and enjoyed being pampered at The Raphael. Our small suite was perfect for a family of four. We had a great rest and plenty of space to get ready in the morning with the dressing area separate from bathroom/shower area. We used the workout room and although smallish, it perfectly suited us and our workout needs. It was nice and clean with good equipment and stocked with fresh towels and water. We had our choice of hot foods in the restaurant for a satisfying, excellent breakfast. What a nice change from the ho-hum continental breakfast choices at most hotels these days. It was a quick walk to the many plaza shops and restaurants. A beautiful, convenient location. We all give thumbs up to The Raphael. We WILL stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marahja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Marahja,

We really enjoy your "Raves for the Raphael", thank you for all of your kind words and your generous review. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy all of our services. Please plan on retuning to see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great hotel located near the Country Club Plaza. We stayed here for a little mini-moon after our wedding in May. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and clean. Great bar and music in the lounge, an unexpected perk for a Sunday night. I will stay here again for the great location and awesome views of the plaza.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Kendra,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for celebrating your "mini-moon" with us at the Raphael Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again on the Plaza.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is my absolute favorite hotel in Kansas City. I love the Plaza location, beautiful lobby, and well-appointed rooms. Everything is sparkling clean. Service is always top-notch when I stay here. There are so many little touches that make me never want to leave like the tea and coffee in the lobby, fresh fruit, and cookies. The Kuerig coffee in the room along with the high-quality toiletries, bath robes, and deep soaker tub help me feel so relaxed and pampered. The gym is great and offers earphones, bottled waters, and healthy snacks. Don't miss dinner and drinks at The Chaz before you drift off in the luxurious bedding on the quality mattress. I suggest a suite facing the plaza. It's a beautiful view and spacious room. I have stayed many times, and I now refuse to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a Plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeKB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear MeKB123,

Thank you for staying at the Raphael Hotel and sharing your feedback. We are honored to be your "Absolute favorite" hotel and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

this place exceeded my expectations. it is a bit pricey, but it does have some good features
I like that I can walk to the country club Plaza from here. it is a scenic walk in the warm weather. the service here was real good. the rooms were clean and very nice. they were willing to accommodate a solo stay, and treated me well. .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Bill G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and all your kind words. We are pleased you were so pleased! We hope to see you again in the near future....

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had lived in KC over 15 years ago and returned to visit friends and the area. I had known about the Raphael from reviews and reputation and wanted to see for my self. I was not disappointed! Very elegant perfectly located! It was interesting to see that it is owned by a family from Salina Kansas. From the moment you call to the time you drive up to until you leave, the service was great and everyone so genuinely nice! The bell men/valet were especially pleasant, helping with your bags or retrieving your car! Always a smile and good conversation! The room was high standards and well appointed. The bed was sooo comfortable as was the robe! When i'm back for a visit I will return to the Raphael!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveatbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Daveatbeach,

Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay with us at the Raphael Hotel. We really appreciate being able to share your thoughts with all of our Associates. please plan on returning again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

For my 50th birthday, my husband surprised me with a night at The Raphael. We stayed in an executive suite which was the perfect size with a king size bed. The bed was very comfortable & I appreciated the additional refrigerator. We had breakfast in the room the next morning. It was delicious. The staff & service was outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Gravesgrl1,

Happy 50th Birthday from all of us at the Raphael Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your surprise visit to the Country Club Plaza. We think your husband has great taste!

In Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
603 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing