We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Great Time”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My family and I occupied a Presidential Suite and a King Suite for the night before Mother's Day. The rooms were very nice and the beds were very comfortable. The fold out beds received good revues from my teenage daughters who occupied them. A word about bathrooms---the bathroom in the Presidential Suite is extremely nice. The shower has two shower heads, one is a rain head that is very relaxing. There is a Jacuzzi tub in a separate room that also has a flat screen TV and soft, ambient lighting. The hotel is very quiet and romantic if you don't have teenage children with you. It is an easy walk to pretty much everywhere on the Plaza, so don't sweat that part. Tons of food, shopping and music choices. The food and atmosphere at The Chaz on site is very good. It was a great experience and we will return.

Room Tip: Presidential Suites have big bathrooms but don't overlook the Plaza (not a big deal). The corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMoose581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Moose 581,

Thank you for your very kind review, and the sharing of all your thoughts. We truly appreciate your time and efforts, as well as your patronage. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    124
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
148
391
37
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
America
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Raphael for 2 nights in the Plaza Suite. We got a great deal on the room, so, there are really no complaints, but this is an 'honest review'. I like all kinds of hotels, boutique, historic, sleek, modern, etc. This falls into the historic, boutique side of things and on those notes, it delivers. The service was very good, but not 5 star. Everyone was fine, but it wasn't refined. One morning, without being prompted to, the cleaning lady lightly knocked and quickly entered our room to give us another ice bag. She nearly walked in on my wife and I in a compromising position. Just little stuff like that. The room was spacious and accommodating. The bed was great. The light let in by the windows was fantastic and the view of the plaza was perfect. The location cannot be beat. It does lack some amenities, like a pool, but you know that before you go. They also offered live jazz every night, which was a treat. Overall, a good experience. I would not hesitate to stay there again. However, for my next trip, I think we will try the Hotel Sorella.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tesheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Te sheets,

Thank you for your many kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly apologize for the housekeeping error, and will address that issue.

Thank you for your valued input and your patronage.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I decided to take my wife out to the Plaza for her birthday and reserved a room at the Raphael. We have stayed there a few times before and always had a good experience. Not this time however. Some of the rooms can be a bit smaller and the bathrooms as well, but we had a bigger room this time. Bathroom was still small and sink was located in part of the bedroom. People by the way are always very friendly and accommodative.

The disappointment of this stay was the mattress we slept on. Not very comfortable. Hard and woke up with my back hurting. This was the first time we had that experience. I called the hotel the next day after we got home to let them know. The person was going to let "someone" know about the mattress. I didn't hear back. He did say "I hope you come back to stay with us"... I'm not sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuroPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Thanks to guests like yourself, we have the opportunity to give attention to situations that may require improvement, as well as to share all input with all of our associates. In addition, we truly appreciate your follow up call. I promise that we will address the issue you endured. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence, and we can host you again in the near future. Again, thank you for your valued input.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff was very friendly and the location is excellent for spending time on the Plaza. The double queen suite we stayed in was of nice size with a small seating area, great for the family as it also had a pull out couch. We very much enjoyed our 5 star breakfast at the Chaz both mornings.
We would return for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raleigh198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Raleigh198,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Raphael Hotel. We truly appreciate having the opportunity to host you. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eureka springs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is obviously well run ! From arrival with a well groomed entrance and neatly uniformed doorman we were whisked into the hotel and greeted by a very friendly clerk up to a bog room that was super well appointed with amenities that far surpassed our expectation. We walked across the bridge into the country club plaza for dinner

Really a perfect stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1905manager1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear 1905 Manager Guests,

Thank you for efforts to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us a the Raphael Hotel.

We truly appreciate your kind words, and promise to share them with all of our associates. Please plan on returning again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were in Harrisonville planning a quick getaway for out first year anniversary. Sheraton let us down with a terrible presidential suite, but Raphael made that experience history. Room was fantastic and absolutely clean. Everything worked except for T.V but it didn't really matter. Service was great. I reeeeaally recommend :)

Room Tip: Presidential, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444melissaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Melisa,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for selecting the Raphael to host your special day. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

Let's make this an annual event...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I much prefer sleek, modern hotels for business trips but nevertheless, i thought the Raphael was an excellent stay. Walking distance to country club plaza, decent sized rooms, comfortable bed and fairly quiet. Kansas City as a whole is an old city - the intercontinental was located across the street and that place looked very dated from the outside. At least the Raphael has charm and a good restaurant - albeit it has a bit of "the shining" feel that comes with old hotels

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigLeagueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear BigLeagueC,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, even if we do provide alittle different style than you are used to. Thank you for your kind comments. We hope we will have another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
605 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing