We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
$218
$198
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$146
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fontaine(Kansas City)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
816 Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveler rating
747
132
25
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
132
25
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaz restaurantcountry club plazapresidential suitefree valet parkingplaza view suitebrush creeklive jazzboutique hotelbeautiful hotelromantic weekendapartment buildingroom servicemini barsitting roomfavorite hotelplaza lightschristmas lights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 921 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We visit the Plaza area several times a year and the Raphael is always our choice. Great location, wonderful rooms and impeccable service. The rooms are great, the bar and restaurant are great, and it has no equals. Not as cheap as others, but it is worth it to us. Quiet, romantic and worth a visit. You visit once and you will be hooked.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Charles,

Thanhk you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visists to the Raphael.It is always so helpful to share these comments with all of our associates, who make it all happen. Please plan on returning soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

You want an unbelievable stay for a nice romantic weekend? How about a place to bring your company for a meeting? You would not believe this hotel......until you see it for yourself!!! From the moment you get here you feel like you stepped back in time. You are greeted so warmly it shocks you. The staff is so congenial it reminds you of days gone by. This is one of the most fabulous hotels I've stayed in since I don't know when. The restaurant in the hotel is Chaz and I will tell you the Chef is unbelievable. The ambiance is fantastic, food is impeccable. The chef prepared our group a personalized 5 course meal he just "made up" and it was fantastic! I swear he is the hidden gem among diamonds! They used to contract out but now have their own gym and it's perfect. Walk across the street and you're shopping in the plaza with great shops and restaurants on every block! You will not regret your stay here, nor will you regret bringing your team here for a meeting. Stay here once and you will return here every time your come to Kansas City.

Room Tip: Grab a plaza view!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNut342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear TraveNut342,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Your comments mean so much to all of our associates, who make it all happen. Please plan on returning again soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Mr. Bill Carter, GM
The Raphael Hotel & Chaz` Restaurant
325 Ward Parkway, KCMO 64112

Dear Mr. Carter,

Mr. Carter, thanks to you, our accommodations and room 802 was perfect! From The Chaz` to the Hotel, every associate WOWED us again! What a joy to share another great anniversary getaway at the beautiful Raphael Hotel and our fine dining experiences at The Chaz` Restaurant. The Sunday night deal is the deal of deals, but it’s your incredible staff that keeps us returning. What makes our experiences so wonderful is knowing the second we arrive, we will be treated like kings and queens. With the pride and the passion that every Raphael employee exhibits, it’s obvious they have been given hands on, meticulously detailed training. I made sure every staff person was told how Mr. Carter had gone out of his way to make our stay one we will always remember. The positive comments I received proved great respect and admiration for you and your outstanding management leadership.
But have to say, making my initial reservations was a bit of a stretch. And if I could humbly make a suggestion, do away with transferring the reservation calls! My call to the hotel was first sent to somewhere at the Autograph headquarters and the man I spoke with barely spoke English. I asked to be transferred back to the Raphael location and he was very short and said he would take my reservations. So I just hung up. I had to look up your card to get the direct number. I hope that the system of sending calls to another location and to folks that just aren’t Raphael material hasn’t caused any loss of business.
At the moment of our arrival smiling Rick greeted us, helped us with our luggage, and made us feel like home folks. Our check was smooth and the phone follow up making sure our room was perfect was most considerate. We made sure that entertainer/waiter extraordinaire Josh Minnis was ready for us on Saturday night and Douglin Scmidt was set for Sunday night. We told Rick that we had to get another dose of Josh just to make our anniversary perfect! We got the perfect table for quiet romance and please tell David, not only was the meal fabulous but Josh’s entertainment was free!
We were very pleased to meet Chef Charles d’Ablain! Sorry we weren’t ablt to tour the kitchen but know Valintine’s was crazy good!
The beautiful table cloths, classy flatware and creative plates, precise wine stemware, to the chilled salad plates, not one detail was overlooked. Hats off again to Chef Charles d'Ablaing! Maybe our next visit we can tour the kitchen and meet the rest of the culinary staff.
Both nights my wife’s entrée’s were right on! Saturday Cheri loved the salmon and Sunday night the Sea Bass. Cheri says I am boring but loved the strip steaks both nights. The sides were masterfully paired and the desserts were spot on! Please be assured, we have done our part and will continue to tell others about the beautiful Raphael and the wonderful fine dining experience that awaits you at The Chaz Restaurant. Most of all, the fun from one who knows how to make you laugh, a good dose of Josh cures any ailing attitude!~
The one hour message from Laura and Jenny was the best we have ever had. We will request them again next year.

Devoted and thoroughly satisfied customers,


Woody and Cheri Woodward

Room Tip: Views of the Plaza are great!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Woody,

Thank you so much for all your kind words about your recent stay with us at the Raphael and while dining at Chaz. We are so appreciative of all your efforts with the survey, and while you were actually here at the hotel, and interacting with so many of our associates. We will all look forward to your return!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Well located for the business areas outside the city. Comfortable. Nice service. I stayed in one of the junior suites and it was excellent value. Warm, friendly welcome on the desk and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Stan W.,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope you will plan on returning soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a surprise! We were driving from Chicago to Los Angeles and hit bad weather so we had to detour to KC. This hotel is an architectural treat. The service was wonderful and the room was exceptional.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Beanie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Beanie,

We hope this finds you safe and sound in LA by now. Thank you for your very kind review, please don't wait for another snowstorm to come back and see us. We truly appreciate your patronage.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews