We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location, and hands down the nicest hotel I have ever visited! $99 military rate and free valet parking. Excellent staff, luxury facilities and delicious food! I wish I had found this place sooner. I will be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

"Best of the Best", we love your description! Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us and the rest of the world. Please plan on returning soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    104
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
122
334
34
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bucyrus
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was such a fun place. We celebrated our anniversary at the Raphael and enjoyed such a wonderful time. Great service, from the valet and bellman when we first drove up, to the delectable beverage and macaroon waiting for us inside, to the upgraded suite, to the remote drapes in the room, the Keurig coffee maker, to the comfortable bed, and the fantastic breakfast that made me feel I had traveled to Europe, when I was just across town. This was a fantastic place, I loved the history, personality, and fun loving persona of the Raphael.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quik9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Quick 9's,

How "peachy" of you to share all your nice thoughts. We are so happy you had so much fun. We will look forward to your return,

Take Care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is the best in KC now that the renovations are complete. You can't beat the location if you want to be near the Plaza. Service is very good. The rooms are large and the beds are so comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CindyO841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Cindy,

Thank you so much for being our guest, and sharing your thoughts! Please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with my cousin in July for a girls night out. The room was heavenly. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the a/c was cold and the room service breakfast was scrumptious! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Classy,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your recent stay at the Raphael Hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience.

Please plan on coming back and seeing us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

this hotel is completely up to standard now that renovation works have been completed.
I stayed there many times and it is nice that the staff remembers you from the front desk to the breakfast room.
The location is also great since it is close to the Plaza, a large shopping area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Andre,

Thank you for choosing the Raphael Hotel while visisting the KC area. We truly appreciate your kind comments, and hope you willo continue to return a nd see us. If there is ever anything we can do to better assist you, please just say the word! Look forward to your next return.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel - it was the best hotel experience we've had in a long time. I admit we stayed in a fabulous suite, but, in the East or on the West coast it would easily have been 2-3 times the cost! The staff was friendly and responsive without being overbearing. Although the building was an old apartment complex, it has all the technological conveniences you need - including free wi-fi and a Keurig machine in the room. I might have to return to KC just to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapsgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Fantastic Guests,

Thank you so much for all your kind words! It's Ok to return just to stay with us again...

We will look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
336 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed there for our anniversary. If you enjoy small, boutique type hotels you will enjoy this hotel. Their restaurant has fabulous food and ambiance. The location is on the edge of the Country Club Plaza where there is so much to see. The room was very comfortable. Service was excellent!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Dixiepeach,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing the Raphael to celebrate your special occasion. We truly appreciate all your kind comments from your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please plan on returning to us again soon!

Best Regards,
!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing