We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotels Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rahpael the night of our wedding. It was absolutely amazing. From the time we arrived, when the FREE valet serviced greeted us at my car. To when we arrived in our plush Presidential Suite for the evening. It was just great prefect way to end what was already a perfect day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Long0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Newly Weds,

Thank you for choosing the Raphael for your very special day, CONGRATULATIONS! We are so appreciative of you sharing your experience and your thoughts. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    104
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
121
333
34
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our getaway in KC at the Raphael Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of by the wonderful staff. The hotel is besutiful and the architecture is truly something to enjoy. The room was nicely appointed and even had bath salts! We had a great view of the Plaza from our room and everything in the plaza was within walking distance. The Nelson Atkins Museum of Art is also close by as well. This was a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear "Getaway" Guests,

Thank you for selecting the Raphael as your "Getaway" of choice. We truly appreciate your kind comments. Thank you for being our guests. We hope you plan on returning soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From The Time I Parked The Car In Front, With The Complimentary Valet, To The Checkout, The People There Were Professional, Curtious, Willing To Help And Even Made Things Simple And Pleasant. I Will Go There Anytime I Visit Kansas City. Thank You For A Wonderful Experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ducducevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear RecenT Raphael Guests,

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, what more can we say? It really helps us to maintain this kind of satisfaction with all of our guests, when we can share this kind of experience with all of our associates.

Please plan on returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I am in love with this hotel! The staff was incredible: from valet, the front desk, bartender in Chaz to the housekeeper on our floor. Such a gorgeous hotel in a fabulous location. This is my ideal place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Hotel Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a great review! We truly appreciate your mentioning all the individual staff members in particular.

We love being "Your ideal place to stay", come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Raphael Hotel is a beautiful hotel, room was large and spacious with a great view. Although the best part was the service, we've never gone to a hotel and had such helpful and genuinely nice people. If you get a chance make sure you eat at The Chaz restaurant, amazing food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Raphael and Chaz Guests,

How nice of you! Thank you for all your kind words about the Raphael and Chaz! We love to share reviews like this with all of our associates who make it all happen. Thank you for caring, we hope to see you again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Incredibly courteous and accommodating staff, perfect location within easy walking distance of the best shops and restaurants, superb cleanliness, the only thing that could have made this better would be staying for free!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you for all your kind words! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and your thoughts. Please plan on returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The plains
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Our room was not ready upon our arrival. We were 15 minutes early. We went to the plaza to shop a bit while we waited and got caught in a torrential downpour. Went back to the hotel and our room still was not ready but it was well past check in. We were told 2 minutes wait while they put in towels. We were soaking wet from the rain and waited in the lobby another 20 minutes before our room was ready. If I had it to do over I would stay next door at the intercontinental. The person working the desk did give us certificates for two free breakfast which we did not use.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank midwesternplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

No doubt we really let you down on this one. As hard as we always try, some circumstances can cause some rooms to be delayed, but still no excuses on our part. We are so sorry that on top of your delay, you were rained on as well. Please accept our sincere aplogies! We hope you were able to enjoy your guestroom, once you were in it.

Again, please accept our apologies! We hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence one day, and provide you the proper Raphael experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 111 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing