We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay - I have been at the Raphael for about 6 months now almost permanently ...

The staff are amazing - exceptionally personal, friendly service that would be almost impossible to beat ... They are my family away from Australia!!

Location is the best - right on The Plaza - stroll to any number of restaurants and shops ...rooms are spacious and stylishly finished.

The atmosphere is great - through summer and snowy winters ... Very highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for letting us be you "home away from home". You are part of our family as well. Thank you for all your patronage, and sharing your thoughts with the rest of the world!

We will look forward to seeing you around the house...

All your friends from the Raphael,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    126
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
152
397
37
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very convenient location, charming staff, lovely rooms, excellent food, great bar...what more sould you need??!! Better than the larger CHAIN hotels in the area. Centrally located to adorable Country Club Plaza area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate your review and all your kind words. We are pleased you were able to visit Chaz as well. Please plan on returning again soon, we will look forward to your return,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights early May. This hotel is located in a great spot...across from the Country Club Plaza which has many dining and shopping options. We stayed in the Presidential Suite. It was a gorgeous suite with a lot of room and a luxury bathroom. If you can splurge for it I recommend this suite. The staff here were very friendly and helpful. One of the great things is that there is complimentary valet parking. Even if you don't have a car most of anything you need is within walking distance and this area is very walker friendly. The Chaz restaurant located in the hospital was very tasty. If you want a vacation that is relaxing and upscale this is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get the Presidential Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Raphael Hotel Guests,

Thank you for your very nice review and description of our "Beautiful" hotel. We are so pleasaed you were pleased not only with your guest suite, but your experience in Chaz as well. We promise to share all your kind words with all of our associates. We will look forward to your return. Again thank you you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I highly recommend this place if you're in Kansas City. It's a beautiful small hotel and a two-minute walk from The Plaza making it an ideal spot if you plan on shopping, going to the movies or even just strolling around the nice parts of the city. Excellent staff and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you so much for all your kind words. It is always very helpful to share any and all reviews with all of our accociates. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your patronage, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgbhalf
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I spend 150 nights a year on the road. This place reminds me of "travel at its best". Great suites, room service and the best location in in town.

It is charming without being old. It is intimate without being to small.

Not the cheapest place to stay, but best place to stay in KC.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Best of KC,

What can we say but Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!

We'll look forward to your return...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We travel to the KC area every other year and this time splurged on The Raphael. It was great. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite at check-in which was a nice surprise. The staff is excellent. They were professional, courteous and friendly without any pretension whatsoever. The Plaza is as easy walk from the hotel and the hotel is ideally situated in the KC area. The room was immaculate with a nice decor. Parking was great with easy access in/out of the hotel at no extra charge. There is no question where we will stay again when we return to KC. Excellent job!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lauralynn0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
The Only Place to Stay,

How nice of you! Thanks so much for these and other kind comments. The only question remaining, why only every other year? We hope you will make it a tradition, and let us know what else we can do to make it special for you every time...

Thank you again for your wonderful review, we will be looking for you next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved it!! A little pricey but well worth it. We upgraded to the Presidential. Scott at the bar in Chaz was awesome!! Took a $5 cab to the plaza for an amazing dinner then back to the hotel for after dinner drinks. It's a hotel that feels like a resort!! Breakfast in bed this morning was awesome as well!! Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BAWenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Happy Anniversary!!

Thank you for you choosing the Raphael for your special night out. We truly appreciate your kind words about the Hotel, Chaz, and Scott. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#8 of 108 in Kansas City
2,205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing