We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful boutique property.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Black Diamond, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique property.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great place to take your significant other for a special occasion. Staff is wonderful, personal wake up calls, Chaz restaurant is very good for a hotel. I chose this location because my wife was staying for the first week; she loved it. Concierge level gets lobster or filet included for breakfast along with many other choices. Valet parking is included and the location is perfect for the wife shopping at the plaza, directly across the street.
So far, it's great, however I'm a business traveler and like the amenities of a large chain hotel. No pool, jacuzzi, buffet and the worst, maid hand washes the glasses in the room. Who does that anymore? Also since the hotel was built many years ago, the outer walls are not insulate to current standards. A cool current of air was omnipresent. Internet was slow and cable always had a few station with no signal.
Staff always would come and fix it, but what a pain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear BBP Guest,

Thank you for all your comments and observations. We truly appreciate all of them, and promise to give attention to the Housekeeping point. We are always striving to be better, and you have helped us to continue that effort. Again thank you, and I hope we continue to have the opportuntiy to host you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    106
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
129
342
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I love to go to the Raphael Hotel for a romantic weekend on the Plaza in Kansas City. They even have the wonderful Chaz restaurant in the property. The hotel is very nice. The staff are second to none. The security and convenience are awesome.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Recent Hotel and Chaz Guests,

Please "Keep Coming Back", as you mentioned in your review! Thank you for kind review of the hotel and our restaurant Chaz! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Hope to see you again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was there recently for a conference and had a wonderful experience. The staff was fabulous. I asked for a wake up call and when the phone rang there was an actual person on the other end wishing me a good morning. The rooms and amenities were terrfic. The food was excellent. The Jazz at the Chaz was amazing. I can not wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. "Wonderful Hotel"'

Thank you so much for all your generous comments! We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel and CHAZ our restaurant. It is always so nice to share reviews like this with all the people who make it all happen. Please come back and see us again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I spent a week at this property. Loved the location, the room, and the accommodations. So glad this property was converted into a hotel so many years ago. The restaurant needs a little sprucing up but the food was great. I love period furnishings but they can still be clean. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieLeigh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guest,

Thank you for completing our Guest Survey, and sharing your experience. Thanks to guests like yourself, I have an opportunity to give attention to any situtions that may need it, as well as share all experiences with all of our associates. Again thank you for your input and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently spent two nights in the Raphael. It was a pleasure from check in to departure. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was well supplied and large. I had breakfast in the restaurant. It was good, the service was excellent and it was reasonably priced. I had a question at checkout but it was handled very professionally by Patrick Joyce. I recommend the Raphael highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobTennessee_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of the hotel and our staff and services. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed in a range of hotel rooms and suites in KCMO, including The President, International, Sheraton, the Phillips and Embassy Suites. The Raphael offers style, charm, amazing comfort, convenience, location, and efficient SERVICE. At their CHAZ restaurant we felt like we were in New Orleans. Try It!

Room Tip: We usually choose to view the Plaza, but this time we got a first floor, end King suite with extra w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernTransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Recent Rafael and Chaz guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about both the Raphael and our restaurant Chaz. We are very proud to be considered Charming and providing the Best Service.
All of our associates work very hard every day to insure this for every visitor. Please return and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family and I have been staying at the Raphael annually for nearly 15 years. It's always been an attractive boutique hotel, and the change in ownership a couple of years back resulted in much needed repairs and upgrades. The trade off was a complete loss of personalized service. Our last stay in Dec 2012 was horrific. The reservations had a mix up - we get 3-4 rooms and for our first night we only had 2. I volunteer to sleep on the couch, ask for the bedding to be put in the room, along with more glassware and towels as we are three to a room instead of 2. We get back late and I don't realize that the one thin blanket I've been given is not nearly enough to stay warm - freeze all night. Ask for more blankets the next day, get blankets but the housekeeping staff took the sheets - still are not making the room up for 3 instead of two. Had to ask for coffee and cups, had to ask for towels. My guess is the housekeeping staff does not get a room census or doesn't read it. Upon check out we asked the valet for our car - they kept insisting that someone else's car was ours and actually asked as we were driving away if that car they had brought around wasn't ours?! Staff used to great us by name every year (having spent thousands there over the years), not anymore.

Room Tip: Plaza view is more expensive but only front rooms are truely plaza view, a side room is charged plaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNSnowbird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

I am so sorry to read of the challenges you endured from your visit back in December. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can learn to improve with the details you provided.This is certainly not typical of our normal service and response. I apologize we did not do a better job of hosting you on this visit.

Thank you for input as well as your patience and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence with our facilities and our service again one day.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing