We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best small hotel in the Kansas City area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best small hotel in the Kansas City area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family stays here for Thanksgiving and love it! This hotel is quaint, across the street from the Country Club Plaza shops and the Plaza lights can be seen from the rooms facing the front of the hotel during the Christmas holidays. Ok,,, the staff is a bit overwhelmed on Thanksgiving but since my family tends to happily drift in 1,000 directions it couldn't work better for us. Chaz restaurant is ok,,, good service, ok food. What sets this hotel apart is the architecture, views and excellent service - Thanksgiving notwithstanding. This would also be a fabulous couples/weekend date place. This hotel could best described as old world charming.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have wonderful views. Each room is a bit different
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Thanksgiving Guests,

We are so glad you could join us this year for the Plaza Lighting Ceremony. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is always so helpful to share these kind of comments with all of our associates who work so hard on this day. By the way we love your description of the hotel as "old world charming", we could not have said it any better. Look forward to your return!

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    109
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
132
351
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

OK, I live 5 minutes away from the hotel, but we thought it would be fun to just have a nice dinner (At the Plaza III) and wander back to the hotel and chill w/o having to deal with the traffic. All went well, the Chaz bar is super but after the lights were lit the partying began. We went to bed about 10 and there was no way we were going to sleep until maybe 1 AM. The hotel is an old remodeled apartment building and it was noisy (A lot of it coming from the mood music on their patio 3 stories down) and rather drunk guests. But, I'll give them a pass on that considering the circumstances. Cons: It's overpriced and the rooms are small. A "Plaza view" may just amount to a look at Hall's parking garage which is one of the ugliest structures ever built. And we had no hot water the next morning. Pros: Nice service, good staff and I met a lot of nice people from all over. Valet parking was included and worked nicely. We got an adjustment on our bill because of the lack of hot water and didn't have to argue about it...that was nice but obviously it happens...be prepared. My main complaints? Noisy (The walls are not soundproofed) and obviously the infrastructer may need to be tuned up. And the shower curtain fell off... I'd try it again though...well run.

Room Tip: "Plaza view" really doesn't mean much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Plaza Lights Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us during the Plaza Lights Ceremony. Thanks to guests like yourself we have an opportunity to give attention to situations that may require improvement. We obviously want to aplogize for the inconveniences you encountered. We also want to thank you you for the kind words regarding the service you received. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When you walk through the door you can tell that you are in a special place. The lobby is elegantly decorated with furniture that could be characterized as art. The entire hotel is decorated in dark wood and gold finishes. Service was excellent and the restaurant was perfect. You must try the fried green tomatoes If you are a hardcore shopper it will take you several days to visit all the shops in the local area. The real shocker is that the rate is incredibly inexpensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Guest Relations Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Elegant Guest,

Thank you for such a great reference term dsecribing your recent stay with us at the RAPHAEL! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts from your visit. Thank you as well for your visit to CHAZ!

Please plan on returning during the Holidays, we will be looking for you...

HAPPY HOLIDAYS,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ask for a plaza view suite -- sweet! Comfy beds, 2 TVs, updated, clean and nice. Coupon on the internet for cookies and milk delivered to your room. Good location on the plaza. Chaz (restaurant) had the best eggs benedict ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Raphael Guests,

Thank you for all your kind words about your recent stay with us, as well as your visit to Chaz. We too feel we have the best egg Benedicts in town! Please return and see us again soon, we will have the cookies and milk waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana en Provence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Aiyiyi! What didn't go wrong in this hotel?! My hosts were mortified that my reservation was lost. Even though we had the confirmation email from the hotel. The confirmation number was for someone else on another day. They found a room, but then let us know (at 2 p.m.) that we couldn't get in until four. OK, so they switched the room. After a long, hot shower,I was treated to the fire alarm going off in my room. When the front desk called and I explained (wet, dripping), they said "oh, it does that." (Hmmm, you'd think they could fix that!) Bar closed very early (no nightcaps, apparently), and the next morning, yup, my room rate was incorrect. Cute hotel -- nice idea, not as nice as they think they are. Service was sorely lacking. Next time, I'll stay across the street at the Intercontinental. Room/Jr. Suite was OK -- nothing special. Great bed, I'll give them that.

Room Tip: Ask for Plaza view -- but beware! They don't have rooms ready until 4 p.m.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Guest Relations Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank for taking the time to inform us about the very unfortunate circumstances you endured. on your recent stay with us. Thanks to guests like yourself, we have an opportunity to give attention to situations that may require improvement. I obviously want to aplogize for the inconveniences you had to deal with, and I promise we will share your comments with the appropriate staff members, so we can correct these issues. Thank you so much for your input, your patience, and and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportuntiy to regain your confidence one day in the near future. If I can be of any personal service please contact me directly.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Kinda expensive but I got free breakfast an appetizer, bottle of wine and a horse carriage ride. The wine was a red and I wanted a white so they brought that up an exchanged it. The bath room is kinda small but who spends their time in there. Everything was great from the free valet I had to the drinks and cookies they had in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Guest Relations Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Awesome Guests,

You guys are awesome as well! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, as well as your patronage, we will look forward to your return, hopefully very soon, please stay in touch!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is my new favorite hotel. It is a boutique hotel that has been updated at some point in the last five years. I first found the Raphael when the Intercontinental next door was booked and I needed to be close to the Plaza. At first I was upset, but I am so glad I experienced the Raphael. I've never stayed anywhere else since. The rooms are actually suites, with an extraordinary bed, and a generous seating area. Super clean, clean, clean. Don't miss the restaurant "chaz" on the lower level, it rivals some of the best restaurants on the Plaza.....enjoy your stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffster1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear New Favorite Guests,

Clean is a beautiful word, and one we truly appreciate to hear! Thank you for all your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We will look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#18 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing