We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, awesome room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a 2 queen bed suite for 4 nites with our 2 kids and fell in love. Fantastic sized room, great amenities and top notch staff. And the location can't be beat. The price was also great given the quality. Anyone in the fam would jump at a chance to stay here again. Oh, and the Wifi was speedy and stable the whole time. Surprisingly uncommon even in 2012.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Road_Fun_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Raphael on your recent trip to Kansas City. I am happy to hear that the wireless was speedy and stable. We recently upgraded our wireless internet to provide higher guest satisfaction. I am happy to hear that it is working. Thank you, and we look forward to your return to The Raphael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 874 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel has been on my bucket list for quite a while and deservedly so. From the time we entered the circular driveway to the time we exited the circular driveway, everything was perfect! You are treated like royalty here and made to feel like you are their only guest. Every staff person we came in contact with was delightful and accommodating from check in to checkout. We booked a king suite room with a plaza view on a higher floor and that is exactly what we got. It was a large two room suite, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and linens, two flat screen TV's and free wireless internet to top it off!! I HATE paying for Internet connection, so this was MUCH appreciated. Another extra bonus was the free valet parking......what a joy!! We stayed when the NCAA Big 12 Basketball Tournament was going on, so we expected to,and did pay more than we would have on an average week, but that is supply and demand.....

Room Tip: Get a room facing the plaza....
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebq54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Wonderful service, great location. When I was walking to dinner in the Country Club Plaza last week, the front door attendant handed me an umbrella and suggested I take it as there was rain in the forecast. Sure enough it rained during dinner, so his thoughtfulness was much appreciated.
Great breakfast included as part of the room rate if you are a Platinum Marriott Rewards member.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spent the weekend here to celebrate our anniversary. The staff had balloons and chocolates waiting in our suite when we arrived - such a personal touch. Cookies and cocoa in the lobby in the evening. Bed and linens so comfortable that we wanted to take them home with us. We had a presidential suite with a jacuzzi tub. Our one issue with the room was that the ceiling above our jacuzzi tub leaked. Maintenance came immediately when we noticed the leak, and said, "This happens every weekend when the people above overfill their tub." Irritating to be put into a room with a leaking ceiling when "this happens every weekend." The "fix" was sending housekeeping with extra towels to soak up the leaked water. There were no additional rooms available that night so we couldnt move. Didn't want to use the tub with someone else's bathwater leaking into ours... The front desk staff was very apologetic and moved us to the room above ours the next day. There was obvious water damage to that ceiling as well, right above the tub. We were careful not to overfill our tub. Hope they can get the tub issues fixed. It is a gorgeous hotel and the staff is professional, thoughtful and friendly. We may stay again sometime, but would skip the jacuzzi suite because of the water issue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof3js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have lived in Kansas City, attended UMKC and had no idea about this hotel. What a beautiful hotel, large spacious rooms, great staff, amazing food and so centrally located in Kansas City's most beautiful downtown area. I contacted the staff to host a conference there and was given royal treatment before any contract was signed and still to this date get top rate attention. Will go back, will have any/all conferences I can there and would recommend to anyone a weekday or weekend getaway. AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I was upgraded to a suite so I can't speak to standard rooms. However, the hotel was beautiful and the staff was great and helpful. Great location in the Country Club Plaza. Convenient hotel with a great bar and restaurant onsite.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevels2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

While in town for a business trip, we chose to host people at the Raphael. From the room reservations for our group to the social events we held at the hotel, we were extremely pleased with our experience. The hotel was gorgeous, the food excellent and the service superb. Our group also enjoyed being so centrally located to the great downtown area. We would recommend this hotel for business or leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#7 of 109 in Kansas City
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $243 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing