We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Nearby Hotels
$269
$229
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$139
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$118
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Inn - North(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$83
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
816 Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$124
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,684)
Filter reviews
1,684 results
Traveler rating
927
390
175
113
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
390
175
113
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcierge floorcraig walterreubenfront deskchristmas lightsclub levelhappy hourthe entire staffself parkingoakloungeplazaalamedavaletbalconiesbellmanconference
Filter
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 1,684 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We booked a room for Thanksgiving night and felt like an unwelcome guest. Staff was rude and insulting, rooms are rundown. We were harassed about "noise" at 8:00 pm in the evening even though the hotel gave out guest passes so you could have visitors join you. Room was $700 for the night!! Room service did not answer the phone or put you on hold and never returned. Housekeeping did not answer the phone-ever.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your thoughts regarding your stay with us on Thanksgivng night.

We regret that you did not enjoy your guestroom. All our rooms have been completely renovated and we consistently receive great comments from our guests about the rooms, their furnishings and their cleanliness levels.

We also regret that you felt the staff was unreasonable in asking you to reduce the level of noise from your guestroom. Although I am not aware of the specifics in your case, I do know that like every hotel we need to assess the noise levels when we do receive noise complaints from other guests. If it is felt the noise is excessive, we will then inform the guest that we have received a complaint and ask for their cooperation.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Let me preface this by saying that the staff itself is great. They are really eager to please in a midwest way, so it actually seems sincere.

This is my first report, and this trip was single-handedly my reason for joining the site. I don't care to get into certain specifics as the whole debacle is ongoing. Let me just say that my party spent a significant amount of money at this hotel (let's just say >$5000), and the management ruined it completely. Enough that I told my label's travel department to avoid placing bands in this hotel (I work at one of the big four labels), because if the same thing happened to one our bands, their travel supervisor would be fired (which indeed happened at the JW Marriot in London a few years ago).

What was so bad? On the biggest night of the Plaza's year, when the hotel actively encourages partying in the rooms, we had to end the party early. And you'd think that in a certain room, it would be expected that partying would happen, right? Well the incompetent management didn't do simple tasks like correlating that rooms that ordered catering might be loud, and therefore should be placed together. But no, instead there were noise complaints... At 8:30... When there are fireworks going off and the hotel was in chaos.

They made us shut down the party at 9:30 (because how does anyone having an adult party control noise anyways). We never once received an apology, and actually the hotel management blamed it on us, saying that not every guest was there to party (BS, there's catering menus and a booklet of procedure on how the crowd control works).

This hotel is probably fine if you want a generic hotel with an interior that was bland in 1996 (plasma TVs don't make a room modern, and neither does tacky wallpaper), and if you want to have an anonymous visit to the city. The public areas are actually decent (although they should fire the furniture designers). However, if you want to have a gathering here, I wouldn't trust them as far as I can throw them. I'll stay in LA for next Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KVallaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your experience here on Thanksgiving night.

We obviously regret you feel the hotel was unreasonable in asking the occupants of the guestroom you were in to lower the level of noise coming from the room. The hotel was receiving multiple complaints from several other guestrooms about the noise levels from the room you were in. This was more than two hours after the Country Club Plaza lighting ceremony and the hotel's fireworks show. The hotel clearly has a responsibilty to investigate when noise complaints are received and again, we were receiving multiple complaints. When when exited the elevators on your floor, the noise level from the room you were in was extremely loud. As we approached the room, the noise level was clearly excessive and disruptive. We explained to the guests about the noise complaints and asked that the noise level be lowered. With-in a few minutes, we again received mulitple compliants from several other guestrooms. We returned to the room you were in and the noise level was at least as loud as it was during our first visit to the room.

Again, we regret you do not agree with how we handled this situation, but I do hope you understand how loud it was and how many guests were disrupted and were complaining.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We attended a wedding in the hotel in Mid-November and stayed at the Hotel. Nice spacious and stylish room with a balcony, marble bath, dressign area, spacious closet, warm comfortable bed, firm mattress, clean room, no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey_Traveller0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City during your November trip to attend a wedding. We are glad you enjoyed your guestroom and found it to be comfortable and clean.

We will look forward to serving you on your next trip to the area.

Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over Thanksgiving. We chose this property for its proximity to my sister's home and for access to the plaza and the lighting ceremony. The hotel has been recently updated and it shows. It has a classic but not stuffy appeal. We were upgraded to a two room suite which was very much appreciated. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We made a few special requests and they complied gladly. On Thanksgiving Day it was very busy due to the lighting ceremony. The staff was well organized to handle the crowds. We would love to return to this property at a future date.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytripper2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

In the hospitality business, the goal of the team is always to exceed every guest's expectation so we were very pleased to learn you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. There is never a bad time to be on the Country Club Plaza, but during the holidays it is truly magical, with the spirit of the season and the Plaza lights.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. We will look forward to serving you again. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

It was a very clean and comfortable hotel. Staff was always friendly and helpful. The room was nice with a good view. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was pretty small but had everything you needed and was nice. There was a parking garage for the hotel and I was a little alarmed that you were not required to have a room key to enter the hotel from the garage. There was a card reader on the door but I guess it was not operational because you could just open the door at any time. When in the area I would definitely stay here again.
It was a conference so I ate many meals at the hotel and the food was pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravesfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay at the InterContinental Kansas City. We are obviously delighted to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

As for garage access into the hotel, please know that entry does require a guestroom key after 10:00pm daily. Access is not restricted until 10:00pm as many guests who come to the hotel to attend meetings or visit our food and beverage outlets are not overnight guests.

Again, thank you for the review and please know we appreciate and value your business. Please feel free to contact me directly whenever I may be of assistance during your future stays.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews