We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our first visit to Kansas City, specifically to visit the Nelson Atkins Museum, so we chose the hotel as it was nearby. What a lucky choice. Not only did it meet our requirement but we found ourselves in the right part of town for lots of interesting restaurants and shops.
We received a warm welcome from Nevada on reception and liked our room, high up overlooking the Plaza district. It was comfortable, as you would expect, and quiet. Great to be able to walk out and have everything there for you in close proximity to the hotel. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank your staying with us and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

The Nelson Atkins museum is truly a world class facility. We're glad you were able to see some of their collections.

Thanks for also letting us know how much you enjoyed Nevada's warm welcome. We'll be sure to share your feedback with her.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in KC!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed two nights at the KC Intercontinental last weekend, and have no complaints. The staff was very accommodating - we were able to check in a few hours earlier than the normal check in time, and they were always friendly and helpful. The location is great: walk to shopping and restaurants in the Plaza, and a nice park is about five blocks south for a hilly run. There's a path around the perimeter, and a memorial, playground, etc within the park. We took full advantage of the gorgeous summer weather and spent a few hours each day by the hotel's pool area. There are lots of chairs, a shallow pool and deeper pool, fountain, live music on Friday, and a snack/drink bar. Towels are provided, but on late Friday afternoon they were all gone. Used towels were lying everywhere, and the garbage cans needed to be emptied. (I guess that counts as a complaint.) Regardless, it's like an oasis in the city. The bar inside the hotel overlooks the pool area. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. WiFi is free if you're an IGH club member. Parking in the attached ramp is also complimentary. We are in KC a few times a year, and this hotel is now at the top of our list!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine. Some yahoo must've been filling his huge cooler with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to learn we are now your hotel of choice in Kansas City!

Our staff really is very accommodating, always striving to provide an experience which exceeds the guest's expectation.

We're also glad you discovered Loose Park. It's a great place to exercise or enjoy a leisurely stroll.

We all look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

this is a nice hotel with a nice everything. the rooms in the tower is where you want to stay. get one on the plaza side overlooking the Plaza. Fountains, river walk, and nice shops and resturants are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: get a room in the tower on the plaza side. they are a bit noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank defazeo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor!

Regarding your "tip" to others about staying in a Tower room with a Plaza view. These rooms are very nice and the view really is special. The hotel also has a Wing section with "deluxe" rooms. All of these rooms also have a Plaza view. Additionally, the deluxe rooms are larger than the Tower rooms. They also have an over-sized balcony with a small table and two chairs. You may want to reserve one of these rooms next time.

Once again, thanks for your comments and we'll look forward to serving you during your next trip to Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the front desk clerk (Nevada). She was professional and made our check in process seamless. What a great person to be greeting your customers. Perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the town and canal are great. It is a little noisy with the traffic on that sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank retiredtraveler189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

I just shared your comments with Nevada and they brought a big smile to her face. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed her service!

We'll look forward to serving you again during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We checked in early on a Friday afternoon. We were greeted by a very friendly lady (I wish I had gotten her name). We told her it was our anniversary, and asked if we could possibly have a plaza view. She told us they might night have a room available yet, since it was 2 hours before check in. We told her we could come back, but she found us one that was ready, and the view was spectacular! She also gave us access to club level, so we could enjoy happy hour, and appetizers. All the hotel personal went above and beyond! Everything was very good, and very clean! We will return! The location is excellent. the pool is amazing, and the free entertainment in the lounge is great!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary!

Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your special day!

Our staff enjoys providing some extra touches when we learn of a special occasion. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed them!

We'll look forward to serving you again during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We just left and thought the hotel was wonderful. EVERYONE was friendly and seemed to genuinely care about the people there.
As stated, the location was perfect being minutes away from the Plaza. From the moment we arrived and were helped at check in by a truly nice woman(I am sorry that I forgot to write down her name) with helpful suggestions, the staff could not have been nicer.
Concierge Trenton was helpful with restaurant suggestions, parking attendants were speedy and helpful and Craig on the Concierge floor was marvelous. We had one dinner on the rooftop with a private function and the food and service were excellent.
This was our first trip to Kansas City but if we return we will definitely stay here.
We also found that all the people we encountered in KC were just as friendly!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jennyseinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay!

Kansas City is a great town, known for it's hospitality. We're very happy to learn you found our staff to be very friendly and genuine, and that you especially enjoyed the service from Trenton and Craig. We will be sure to share your comments with them.

We're also pleased you enjoyed the experience at the private function in our Rooftop Ballroom. We take great pride in our food and service, and you can't beat the incredible view of the Plaza.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The InterContinental Hotel Kansas City on the Plaza is a must-stay hotel. It is a high-end hotel with great character. Park your car when you arrive, and you can walk across the street from the Plaza . The hotel pool is a wonderful addition during the summer. So many great people who work there that I'm careful to start naming and then missing someone. John the bellman, Ed the valet guy, Kent the concierge, and everyone at the front desk. It

Room Tip: A plaza-view room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor!

We're glad you enjoyed your most recent stay. Please know we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and we will be sure to share your comments with John, Ed and Kent.

We all look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,194 reviews
0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $158 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing