We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Plaza”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our recent stay at the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza was terrific. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Checkin/checkout was quick and efficient. Our 7th floor room was quiet, fresh, stylish and very spacious. The bed, very comfy! From our room balcony, we had an outstanding view of the plaza. The pool area is a little oasis in the midst of the busy city. Be sure to stop in at the Oak Bar, just off the lobby. Try the crab cake and a cold local brew. Conveniently located to shopping, restaurants and many KC attractions, we will definitely return to the InterContinental on future trips to Kansas City and the Plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trtzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback.

To receive such high praise from a seasoned traveler is very gratifying! We're very happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed your experiences at the pool and in the Oak Bar! The view from the balconies really is special, so we're glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for also mentioning our quick and efficient check-in and check-out. Nobody likes a long goodbye!

Please stay with us again the next time you visit the area!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    366
    163
    100
    66
See reviews for
299
386
54
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The bridal couple offered a block of rooms with terrific prices at this beautiful hotel in KC's "Plaza" district. They couldn't have made a better choice! (Full disclosure, the reception was in the IC's Rooftop Ballroom with fantastic views of the city on a perfect evening). During our two night stay we had a chance to savor room service breakfast fare, lunch in the Oak Room, some time at their outdoor pool space (truthfully, the one snag in our stay because the hotel sells community pool memberships and, on a July day with temps in the low 80's, low humidity and a clear blue sky, there were tons of 'members' there ... considerably more crowded than you'd expect for an elite hotel). However, overall the stay was wonderful, the staff were terrific and it was great to be able to stroll across "the Creek" to shop and dine.

Room Tip: Hard to say since we were only there once - but we heard no complaints from others who stayed in oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

It sounds like you were able to sample much of what the hotel has to offer during your weekend stay, and we are obviously very happy to learn you enjoyed your experience as much as you did!

We'll look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our first stay at the InterCon in KC. Room was nice size. Bed comfy. Staff excellent! Best part was location, location, location! Steps away from the best of the shops at the Plaza. I was in KC for business, but brought along my bride as we were visiting our daughter in the area when my business was complete. Room service was tasty and a fair value with more than generous portions. Frankly, we were a little disappointed there was no complimentary internet. With hotels at half the price offering complimentary internet, we felt like we were being "nickel and dimed" on this service. $12/day for internet was not reasonable. Top that with the computer in their "business center" with charges of $6/15 minutes... I suppose we weren't in that hotel just to surf the internet, but geez... Also disappointed to discover that they are removing the small refrigerators from the rooms (ours was already gone). With such great restaurants nearby, almost all with giant servings that you just can't finish in one seating, we couldn't bring our leftovers back to the room to enjoy later.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peak2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback!

We're very glad you enjoyed your guestroom, the room service experience and of course, the hotel's superior location!

As for charging for internet access, the hotel does charge for access as most of the hotels in the area do so, However, access is complimentary for IHG Reward Club Members and any guest may become a member at any time. There is no cost to join and enrollment takes less than a minute! We would encourage you to allow us to enroll you during your next visit! We will look forward to that time!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location on the outskirts of the Plaza. My husband and I were celebrating a special birthday and were pleasantly surprised by the offer of a room upgrade. The spacious room faced the plaza and we were able to enjoy the view from our veranda. The spacious and clean bathroom with high end amenities was a plus. The evening shopping and dining was so enjoyable knowing we didn't have to worry about driving. The Intercontinental 's location was within walking distance to The Nelson Akins Museum. Great way to spend the Fourth of July. We will be coming back to The Intercontinental. Thank you for making us feel special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your special birthday with us and for letting us know how much you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade, your clean room, the service provided by our team and the hotel's superior location in the heart of the Country Club Plaza!

We'll look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Going to the Kansa City Plaza is such a highlight for a get away. We always stay at the Intercontinental Hotel. The location is perfect....you don't need your car .. Just walk back and forth to the hotel and restaurants and great shopping. Since we joined the Intercontinental Ambassador Club we are able to enjoy many extra amenities. One of them is to enjoy the upstairs concierge room for breakfast, snacks, drinks. Kent, Craig, and Melanie are amazing for their personal service to you. They're friendly personalities are so gracious and truly make our visits memorable each time! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: plaza view is always nice - all rooms are nice! plaza view between Thanksgiving and Christmas so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor, and for always staying with us whenever you are in Kansas City!

Kent, Craig and Melanie are each phenomenal Concierges. There is rarely a day goes by when we don't receive feedback from our guests about the service they provide. They indeed make the concierge experience a very special one! We will be sure to share your feedback with all three of them.

We all look forward to serving you again during your next visit!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I were treated with the upmost respect and courtesy by Kent in the club lounge on the 11th floor. He is very helpful in recommending local attractions and restaurants. Kent always makes us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Plaza are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

Kent takes a lot of personal pride in ensuring that guests staying on the concierge level have their expectations exceeded. We will share your feedback with Kent along with our thanks.

Please know we appreciate you staying with us whenever you are in town!

We look forward to serving you again during your next visit!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I travel to KC for business frequently and the InterContinental is my hotel of choice. Great view of the Plaza, great fitness center and of course a great lounge. The staff is generally excpetional. Ben Parks for example is one of the bar tenders in the Lounge and always greets me with a smile, a handshake and uses my name. There are a few extra charges the hotel puts in there that I shake my head at from time to time- especially for a frequent quest, but overall in my opinion it is still the best hotel in KC on the Plaza.

Room Tip: you may want to consider a room higher up or away from Warnall Ave. for a quieter room with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and experience on Trip Advisor! We're very pleased that you enjoyed the fitness center, the Oak Bar and the service by our staff, especially Ben. He does a wonderful job serving our guests and we'll be sure to let Ben know you mentioned him by name.

Please know we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel!

We all look forward to the next opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing