We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, very clean and polite housekeeping crew.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Great Staff, very clean and polite housekeeping crew.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

While on a business trip to Kansas City I had the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel, the house keeping crew did a great job, and unlike most hotels they greet you with a hello and a smile. One of the staff members was extremely nice and helpful during my visit ( Gurdalupe Munoz ) is a delightful person and an asset to the hotel. God Bless you in all you do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

It's wonderful to learn you found our staff to be so friendly and warm. When it comes to hospitality, nothing defines it better than a genuine smile and a sincere hello. Please know we will share your comments with Guadalupe. It will make her day!

We know you were here for business. When your schedule allows it, please stay with us for a time of leisure. The city has so much to offer, and it doesn't get any better than on the Country Club Plaza, Kansas City's crown jewel for the last 90 years!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    369
    164
    102
    67
See reviews for
302
389
54
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Huge bedrooms, friendly front desk and restaurant service, good toiletries, and smart common parts. But bath tub small and why do you have to pay for wifi at such an expensive hotel. Perfectly good place though scarcely special in any regard.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your huge guestroom and the service provided by our associates at the front desk and in the restaurant.

The hotel does indeed charge for internet access, as do most all of the hotels in this market. However, unlike many other hotels, we do provide complimentary internet to IHG's Reward Club members. The membership is complimentary and enrollment may be done very quickly at check-in.

We will look forward to serving you again the next time you are in our great city!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Wonderful service, large well appointed rooms, good food. It is a short walk to excellent shopping and restaurants. We stayed on the concierge floor and I highly recommend it. Service is outstanding. Live music was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonamo9638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

Service is everything, and we're glad the service you receive made such a positive impression, along with the large guestroom, good food, live music and the hotel's superior location at the doorstep to the beautiful Country Club Plaza.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I went with a group of friends for a night on the Plaza and it was absolutely fabulous! The location was excellent, with only a short walk (right across the street) to the best restaurants and shops. The staff was kind and attentive and the room was clean with a wonderful view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City for your girl's night out! We're glad you all enjoyed the experience and found our staff to be very kind & attentive, and the room to be clean with a wonderful view of the Country Club Plaza. The view really is spectacular!

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City. We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again.

Have you ever eaten at Connie's in Wichita? It's off the railroad tracks around 21st and Broadway. Best fried tacos I've ever had!

Again, thanks for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The InterContinental was perfect location from the Plaza. Everything was in walking distance from the hotel. The service was supreme and the room was beautiful. I would definitely recommend the InterContinental for your next trip.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

We're glad you enjoyed your girl's weekend and found our service to be "supreme", the room beautiful and the proximity to all the Plaza attractions very convenient.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, USA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel with lots of charm. Staff was marvelous. Very helpful for anything you might need. Did not eat in restaurant but the food we had for the conference was very good. Accommodated vegetarian needs with no problem. Bar was spacious great for meetings. Band played on weekends. Short walk to tons of shopping and food. Only complaint was meeting rooms were VERY cold and took hotel forever to fix after many complaints, then later room would be freezing again. Nice hotel would use again

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mardi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your conference. We are very glad it was such a positive experience and we are particularly pleased you found our team to be very accommodating to your needs. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team!

I do apologize for the abundance of cold air in your meeting room. I am not sure what group you were with, but last week we did have the meeting planner of a large group specifically instruct us to keep the room at 65 degrees. Because the planner is in charge of the group, we do take direction from them relative to maintaining temperatures.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the ICH and it was impressive.This hotel is immaculate. The wood lined corridors, quality furnishings, exceptional service and comfort set this one up as one of my favories. I will definitely go back. I had an early check-in and my room wasnt ready yet so they happily gave me an upgrade and got me settled. Its an easy walk to all the shops and restraunts in the Plaza and all information is available for you at checkin. The service here is like none I have encountered. I didn't get the bellmans name but he was STELLAR! He knew the city so well and was so helpful getting me going in the right direction. His is the face you'll see when you come and go, and it's always friendly and professional. The room I had was a 2 bed deluxe. It was very spacious and comfortable. The marble bath was spotless, the bedding luxurious and closets were lighted. The floor to ceiling window was also clean and afforded me the chance to open the drapes to a beautiful city view. The lights of the Plaza at night from this hotel is stunning. I also enjoyed very good live jazz music in the Oak room on 2 different nights during my week long stay. I recommend this hotel for discerning travelers of all types.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawlinrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful remarks on Trip Advisor!

We're obviously very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and we will look forward to the next opportunity to serve you!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#8 of 108 in Kansas City
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing