We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue. Excellent for business or personal trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a very personable, upscale hotel. Like most, the people who staff it are what also makes it a great location. I was in on business and my wife to relax. Everyone was very welcoming and we were lucky enough to enjoy both the meeting areas and the pool, restaurant and bar.

Business: Excellent coordination with facilitators

Food: The Oak Room has the most amazing BLT I've ever had

Rooms: Very nice; clean and we had an excellent view of the Plaza and the pool

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captjacksprrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5-star review!

We're glad you and your wife enjoyed your experience.....and the BLT!

Please stay with us again the next time you are in KC.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We find ourselves visiting Kansas City several times a year. This hotel offers solid service, old world elegance and style. As part of the IHG hotel group members have special privileges. We have racked up a lot of points so we enjoyed a free night. They always upgrade us to a suite when we book a deluxe king. The Plaza shopping and restaurants is just across the street and its home to all the trendy places. The pool area is very nice... landscaped, with plenty of sun or shade. Pool service with drinks and food. We've been coming here for several years and many of the staff have remained the same. It is kid friendly and we see families here every time. Also they must do a lot of weddings or special occasions. Wonderful bar inside and the Oak Room offers well prepared food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Plaza and as high as possible...they have small balconies. Beautiful in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're obviously very pleased to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us! It's always rewarding to get this kind of feedback from our repeat guests.

We all look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our weekend stay. All the employees were exceptionally friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived! I would definitely recommend the concierge floor...thank you Craig and Kent for your wonderful hospitality! The drinks and snacks were as filling as meals, and easly worth the extra cost.

My only issue was that the hotel sells summer memberships to the pool to non-guests. The main reason we chose this hotel was because it is the only one on the plaza with an outdoor pool. Although we enjoyed the bar and service (thanks Chris!) and the live music, every inch of the pool area was PACKED with non-guests which, unfortunately, made it VERY difficult for paying guests to enjoy the pool. If one did not have a seat by 10:00am on Saturday, they were out of luck. I had to step over people to reach the pool, then ask a young man to move from the ladder area so I could swim. Non-guests were shoulder to shoulder sitting on the edge of the pool. I spoke with a couple of families with young children who were miffed that they could not enjoy the smaller shallow pool because it was completely full of non-guests. I would hope the Intercontinental would ensure that paying guests have access to the amenities in the future.

Overall, it was a great weekend and we will return.

Room Tip: Concierge floor well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emccwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the 5-star rating!

Your feedback on your Saturday experience at the pool is appreciated. We will address the issue of non guests utilizing this area.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

A very beautiful hotel. Perfect location. The views are amazing!! This hotel is more geared for the business traveler. I found the lack of mini frig and microwave to be a disadvantage. Then after what the rooms cost you have to pay an additional $15 to park your car yourself. This is ridiculous!! In the morning this is the first hotel I have stayed in that ran out of hot water. With all this said I'm not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grfix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of hot water you experienced. It is very rare for us to hear this complaint, so I'm not sure what the issue was with your room, but again I do apologize.

Please know the $15 charge for parking is consistent with a large majority of the hotels around the Plaza and in the Downtown and Crown Center areas.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great trip to Kansas City and got a free upgrade to a market view room. Great hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. We also enjoyed the live music and the bar. The pool was also fun and we had excellent pool-side service. There is an elevator that takes you to the top floor for some great views from the top floor bar area. Also have cabs on standby. Rooms were nice and we enjoyed the porch. While its not new, they do a good job maintaining it and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and with and we would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Intercontinental and reserved three rooms on the concierge level including one suite. If you decide to stay at the intercontinental there are a few things to keep in mind. The good: the location on the Country Club Plaza, the staff on the concierge level, the food and drink on the concierge level, the view on the concierge level. Poolside food and service. Nice touch of citrus water and lemonade at 2:30 PM but why not earlier? Notice all the good was mostly on.... the concierge level!!
The bad: terribly crowded pool area and lounge chairs "reserved" by guests with with too old and too used hotel towels left lying on the chairs long after the guest is gone. Overly crowded lounge on the weekends. Lots of conventioneers and wedding parties stay here, wonderful for them, extremely loud and tight squeeze for everyone else. Food in Oak Room was....not that good and it was slow and expensive for not tasting that great. Keys that don't always work. Expensive for, how can I say it, an aging grande dame that needs some work.

Room Tip: Concierge level!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We're very pleased you enjoyed your rooms and the experiences on our concierge level!

The pool and Oak Bar are indeed very popular with our guests, and I apologize for both areas being heavily used while you were there.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again the next time you visit our great city.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an easy review to write. This has got to be one of the best hotels to stay in Kansas City. Set in a superb area, within easy walking distance of The Plaza. I cannot find a fault. Our room was spotless and well appointed, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review!

We are obviously very happy to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your five night stay with us.

We will look forward to serving you again the next time you return to the area!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,182 reviews
0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $152 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing