We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice views from Deluxe room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice views from Deluxe room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was a guest of the city so got upgraded to the deluxe room overlooking the country plaza shopping center which is a very unique open air shopping mall built in Spanish style in 1920s. The room was very spacious and well appointed with same late modifications to upgrade the electronics. The public areas are very nicely maintained and the hotel has a nice upscale feel about it. Breakfast in the restaurant was a nice American breakfast. No complaints. Just that my room on the 5th floor was accessed via an elevator off a long passage way leading off from the reception.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rvansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're very pleased you enjoyed your guestroom, our location and your meal in the Oak Room. Thank you also for your comments about the cleanliness levels through-out the hotel.

Please know we appreciate your business and will look forward to the next opportunity to serve you!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    333
    150
    85
    61
See reviews for
275
341
53
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I had a one-night stay on business at this hotel. The room was okay, but the bathroom was tired and old. The commode was very old and the fixtures were outdated. Everything was clean, but it wasn't an inspiring space, to say the least. One plus is that there were plenty of outlets for electrical gadgets both by the desk and the bed, although the outlet by the desk was poorly placed to be just where your stomach is when sitting at the desk, so your laptop plug jabs you in the stomach while you're working. Very odd.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback, which we always value and use in our quest to provide each guest with a 5-star experience.

We're pleased you found your room to be very clean, and apologize for the fact you found the desk outlet to be awkward.

We hope you will return to our AAA 4-diamond hotel the next time you visit Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
503 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This old hotel, which used to be The Plaza Hotel, is still the grandest place to stay on the Plaza. The rooms are comfortable and suitably appointed. The staff is friendly and efficient. The location is perfect. They do charge big city rates for Internet and parking, however, so bring an airport or you'll pay a fee for every two devices you want to use.
Ask for a room facing the Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your endorsement and also, for your 5-star review! We're very pleased you still feel the InterContinental Kansas City is stil the grandest place to stay on the Plaza!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This was not my first visit to KC and the Plaza but my first time staying at the intercontinental. The hotel is within steps of the Plaza and is so convenient to everything. The lobby and bar has wonderful ambience. We enjoyed fabulous singing, musicians and high-spirited people. Our room was nicely appointed but on the small side. The bedding was very comfortable. I would stay at this hotel. It was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to learn you decided to stay with us for the first time. Thank you for doing so, and thanks for the 5-star review!

We would appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you again the next time you are in our great city!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent a long weekend at the Intercontinental on the Country Club Plaza. This hotel has a long history as one of the premier hotels in KC beginning as the Alameda Plaza, then a Fairmont property, and now IC...might have even been a Ritz at one time. Whatever... the rooms with a view of the Plaza make even a "hometown" girl like me swoon. So beautiful day and night, and ofcourse especially over the holidays. Book a Concierge level room or suite...yes, these are more $$$ but the Concierge lounge is outstanding with an expanded elegant continental breakfast, noon snacks & tea, evening appetizers and cocktails, and later evening desserts, cordials & coffee ! An outstanding value and gives you easy walking distance to all the Plaza attractions, shopping, and restaurant/bar venues. Very friendly, courteous and helpful service from the doorman, to check in, to anyone you meet on their staff.

Room Tip: Again....do the Concierge level for the best value considering all the food, drink and service you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipper1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your 5-star review!

Please know how much we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel over the course of many years!

We all will look forward to serving you again the next time you stay with us!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, KS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I are small business owners and we booked a suite at the Intercontinental to do some planning for the upcoming year. We had a very smooth check-in with friendly staff. Carl is who helped us. Our room had a sitting area that made it perfect for us to work in the room. Our view of the Plaza at night, the lights were still on in mid-January, was incredible! I love the location of this property as well. We were able to walk into the Plaza for dinners rather quickly. We had a few drinks in the Oak Room which had some nice entertainment. It was a great weekend!

Room Tip: Get a view of the plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on line!

We appreciate you staying with us for your planning weekend and are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We hope 2013 is a great year for your business!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent 5 days at the InterContinental for a conference and felt that it was a good fit for our large group's needs, minus the confusing floor layout and haphazard scattering of meeting rooms nestled between guest rooms on each floor. This simply added to the frustration of trying to locate conference sessions with limited time to spare. My room was quite comfortable and included a walk-out balcony, but the absolute best attribute to the property is that it is just steps away from the Plaza and all of its eateries and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jb_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed your five day stay with us. Thanks for the feedback on your guestroom, balcony and the location of the hotel in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

We regret that you found the layout of the meeting space to be confusing, There are six conference suites that you are referring to, and each is in the exact same location on each floor.

Again, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing