We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice - but somewhat dated inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
909 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“very nice - but somewhat dated inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel staff are absolutley first class, the food is nice, and the lobby and bar of high quality. The rooms definitely need an update in the worst way. Location is perfect near the Plaza. Food was good and the service from the staff was good as well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments about the hotel in general and our staff. Your feedback will be shared with the team.

It was disappointing to learn you felt your guestroom was outdated. All guestrooms were renovated in 2009 and all guestroom corridors were completely renovated in 2012.

We hope you visit Kansas City during your next trip to the United States as we would enjoy the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    323
    145
    81
    60
See reviews for
262
330
51
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental for four nights beginning December 23, 2012. Our visit was to be with our musician daughter over the Christmas holiday. We could not have made a better hotel choice. The rate was very reasonable for a very large room with a beautiful overlook of the Plaza and its Christmas lights. We received the very best service anyone could expect for any hotel. Perhaps because it was Christmas time, parking in the handicapped area, and maybe other areas, was without charge. Perhaps because we are frequent guests at Holiday Inns, we were also granted entry to the executive lounge for continental breakfasts, and were also able to visit there for cocktails one evening.

The hotel building has existed under several hotel names since before Ronald Reagan just missed obtaining the nomination for President at the Republican convention in 1976. But it appears to be in top shape now as an Intercontinental.

We visited the bar only once, to have drinks and bar food. That room is still beautiful with its extensive wood paneling and high ceiling. It reminds me of Cliff House in San Francisco. The dining room has been changed to be a more intimate space since we last stayed at this hotel when it was under a different name and management. We only had salads or appetisers, but the service was friendly and excellent.

Kansas City is one of the most attractive cities in the nation. Will we stay at the Intercontinental again? You bet we will.

Room Tip: View the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobblsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your 5-star review!

We're very pleased you enjoyed your time here with your daughter and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Please know we appreciate your comments about the extensive renovation work that has taken place in the last four years.

We're glad to learn you will be back, and we'll look forward to serving you again when that time comes!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came back to the InterContinental after many years and were pleasantly surprised. They did renovate it as I saw on Trip Advisor and our room on the concierge floor was very nice and roomy if you could overlook the tiny bathroom. What we enjoyed the most during our stay was the attitude of EVERY staff member. They were so very gracious and friendly and could not seem to do enough for you.
I know we will again continue to stay there on our trips to Kansas City.

Room Tip: Book a room on the concierge floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5-star review!

We are also glad you came back and we look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Kansas City! Please know how much we appreciate your business!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Am currently in my room right now at the InterContinental trying to get to sleep. Went to bed around 11:30 and am still trying to get to sleep and it is nearly 2AM. The seal on the glass balcony door is AWFUL and there is air blowing through the cracks creating a terrible buzzing noise comparable to that of a giant horsefly right next to your ear. Not to mention there are weird banging noises every once in a while making it impossible to sleep. Other than that, rooms are very nice, but very very small-especially for the price. This is the only time we have decided to switch things up from our usual Plaza hotel--as we thought it would be NICER-- and we will definitely not stay here again. What a disaster. Just NOT worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annecol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the noise you could here through your balcony door.

If you would, please e-mail me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com so we may learn your room number. This will allow us to install new seals on the balcony door.

Thank you,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It gets a 4 because of the overall experience, great room rate, great location, comfortable bed, staff may need a little more training. Ask for a view room. Not perfectly clean, room was small. Be careful with weekends, this is a wedding hotel!

Room Tip: Book ahead, ask for plaza view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed your overall experience and that you will stay here again.

Regarding your comments about staff training, should you care to share any specific feedback with me, please feel comfortable in sending me an e-mail at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Thanks,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend for a football game. It is in a great location but the hotel was very disappointing. The rooms are run down and old, not very comfortable.
We atyed on their club level which was supposed to be nicer. The concierge in the club lounge could not think of a restaurant recommendation.
Overall not worth it, there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was disappointing to learn you did not enjoy our renovated guestrooms. We are very proud of the fact we have received the coveted AAA 4-diamond award for 21 consecutive years, recognition which is heavily based on the quality of our guestrooms.

Please accept my apologies for our Concierge's failure to recommend a restaurant to you. They are all very well versed in this area and have always been very quick to suggest their favorites. We have never seen this type of comment before, and will be sure to share your comments with our Concierge team.

Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental in KC near the Plaza. The view of the Christmas lights from the top floor was excellent. Recommend that you request a room facing the plaza, ours did not and this would have been much nicer. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was nice, a bit dated and agree with other reviewers, room size and bathroom size was small and cramped. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cozy and clean. The best part of this hotel was the close proximity to the plaza, can't beat the location. I was not impressed overall, expected much more; however, I had a nice stay and the employees were friendly and helpful. Had a great time just before Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_Power_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed the hotel's location, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly!

We're disappointed you felt the restroom was small, but hope it had all the amenities you expected.

We'll look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happy New Year!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,990 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#18 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing