We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, would come back again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, would come back again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here overnight as a surprise for my husband's birthday. As soon as the front desk associate heard this, he upgraded us to a Plaza view room on the 9th floor at no additional charge. The room was very clean and the decor was aesthetically pleasing. And this may seem like a small detail, but it made us smile: a couple of our hand towels were folded into the shape of a little elephant and left on a chair. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and the sheets and pillows were higher quality. The location was great...within walking distance to most Plaza attractions and restaurants. Hotel parking was not an issue. Overall this was a very good experience, the only reason we did not rate it as "excellent" is because it is starting to show a little wear and could use some TLC. It looked like they had repainted the trim in the bathroom, but some paint had gotten on the walls and it looked a little sloppy for a 4 star hotel. The carpet in the hallways was starting to look a little worn and in need of cleaning. We would stay here again; the staff was very friendly and accommodating and that DEFINITELY goes a long way with us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkKnight0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Happy to read your stay was comfortable and we can look forward to serving you again on your next trip to our great city!

So you know, our guestroom corridors will undergo a complete renovation beginning in January 2012. When finished, they will look spectacular and be consistent with the updated look of the other areas in the hotel.

Thanks for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    351
    157
    93
    62
See reviews for
287
364
54
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
315 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I am in KC about each month. The Intercontinential is an excellent place to hang your hat. The hotel has all the amenities that you want along with a wonderful conceirge floor. If you can get up on the conceirge floor, ask for Craig. He is the best. He remembers your name and has wonderful recommendations for places to eat and things to do while in KC. This hotel is nicely located near the Country Club Plaza and there is a lot of places do some walking. Give this place a try and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 678855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor!

We're very pleased you had a great experience with us and please know we will share your comments about Craig with him.

We all look forward to serving you on your next trip to Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed there for a long weekend recently.
LOCATION - Perfect if you plan to spend time at the plaza.
ROOM - quite adequate and clean, though the website pictures don't really give you a good idea of the room layout, amenities etc or the fact that the rooms are a little worn down. Beds were fine, as were the linens, TV etc. The bathroom was fine on paper, but I would not classify this as fancy or luxurious - more like on par with the Courtyard, Hampton Inn etc. The small balcony was a nice touch as it afforded lots of fresh air and views of the plaza. The room was adequate, but in desperate need of refurbishing for a hotel of this calibre.
My reservation stated a King bed, and I checked in at 3Pm on the dot...but we were given two 'Queens' which were more like 'Full Beds'. I'd rather be told of unavailability than just be 'put' in an open room.
HOTEL - The hotel lobby and restaurant were fine. I reserve using the words 'nice' or 'good' for a few reasons - (i) The hotel is supposed to be AAA 4 Diamond - having stayed at a similarly rated hotel in St. Louis, the InterContinental is NOT in the same class in terms of amenities, room space, fixtures etc and (ii) There is a fair amount of wear and tear in the hotel (peeling wallpaper, chipped furniture etc). If the hotel is being renovated, I'm not sure why there aren't different rates for refurbished vs old rooms. The pool was closed , but it looked nice in the website pictures.
FOOD - The Oak Room serves a fulfilling breakfast buffet ($15), and the staff is very pleasant. But not refilling fruit or other dishes an hour before breakfast was over is inexcusable.
STAFF - Very pleasant staff. The restaurant staff was very pleasant, and the valet/doormen were all very nice. It's always nice to be greeted with a genuine smile and a joke - the staff redeems a hotel that was a tad disappointing for an InterContinental.
WOULD I STAY HERE AGAIN - If the hotel is refurbished and management can sort out kinks (such as making sure that guests receive their preferred bed type or are offered alternatives), I would consider staying here again. Else I'd stay next door at the Raphael for a similar price or save money and stay at the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dndsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were surprised and disappointed to read the condition of your guestroom did not exceed your expectations. All guestrooms were renovated in 2008 and we consistently receive high marks from our guests. I'm not sure if this is what you were referring to, but we will be renovating all guestroom corridors In Januarry 2012.

Please accept my apologies for not having your requested bed type available. We make every effort to honor all requests, but it can be challenging at times when a guest checks in right at 3:00pm as we are typically sold out on weekends.

Thanks for your comments about the friendliness of our staff. We'll be sure to share your comments with them.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a room for Sat night, I spent a bit more to have a patio w/Plaza view, this was a special occasion, we usually don't spend this much money on a room. We got there around 4 pm to check in, got a room that had yellow caution tape over the patio door and a note that they were re-doing the outside and we couldn't use the patio. Also a huge tree blocked any view we might have from the first floor. The whole room and hallways smelled very strongly of whatever solvent type application they were applying to the outside of the building, the smell was strong our whole stay. Our room was a handicapped room which we did not request, the bathroom shower was awful and there was no counter whatsoever for our bathroom stuff. Also no refrigerator as advertised. (they did bring in one upon our request and put the big thing on top of the counter in the hallway). Also the coffee table had dirt and crumbs all over in the edges of it. The lady at check in was very nice and tried to get us another room but they were full and there was a waiting list for rooms that were still not cleaned at 4:30 pm. She did give us a $50 credit but as far as I'm concerned it wasn't enough. They should have let us know of the work being done and we would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kubasketeballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Obviously, we were disappointed to learn your experience with us was negatively impacted due to the renovation of your guestroom balcony.Please accept my apologies. We've made every effort to minimize the disruption to our guests and regret that you were not able to use the balcony.

Our balcony renovation will be completed by November 15 and we hope to have a second opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge'
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest, Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Second visit, just stayed 3 nights for business, first time on the conceirge floor. Outside of the lounge on that floor really didn't notice any difference in room size, furnishings, etc. Conceirge lounge was fine, had quick breakfast 2 mornings and drinks 1 evening. Food for business event was catered by hotel and it was good. Love the location, easy access to the Plaza across the street. Staff was awesome, very friendly and cordial. Some issue with bill but it was corrected immediately and without any fuss.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReunionBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your 5 star review!

Very glad to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Please know how much we appreciate your business.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Recently stayed 3 nights at the Intercontinental on business. Hotel is very well located near the Plaza area of town, with a quick walk to several nice restaurants. The staff was very pleasant. I had one late nite snack and beer in the lounge, and one lunch in the dining room and the food and service were very good, although quite pricey. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the room quiet. If I had any complaint it was the slow elevators. There are three available to use near my room, which was in the main tower. Sometimes I would wait 10 minutes for an elevator. I would have gladly taken the stairs, but they took you outside on the ground floor, not to the lobby where I wanted to go. I also take issue with them charging $11.95/24 hrs of wireless connectivity. Other than that, I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next KC trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornbread35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor and we are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Certainly glad you found our rooms very clean and quiet with comfortable beds. Thanks also for your comments about our staff.

I appreciate your comments about internet access charges as I'd rather not pay them when I travel. With that said, as is the case with all of our fees, they are based on market conditions. In the case of this area, a large majority of the full service hotels do charge for internet access.

My apologies for the slow elevators. On occasion, the flow of guests moving from meeting space to their rooms or other areas of the hotel can place high demand on the elevators. Additionally, one of our "wing" elevators is out of service as it goes through a renovation and controls modernization. This elevator will return to service with-in the next two weeks.

Again, thanks for sharing your comments and thanks for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City. We'll look forward to serving you again when you return.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is maybe the worst Intercontinental to my experience. We've stayed in branches around the world, from Bangkok to Cancun, and this is certainly the worst of the lot. The staff seemed totally dismissive and inconvenienced by the guests, most of whom were loud and partially drunk wedding guests... At the time of check in, I was totally ignored at the reception desk until I leaned over the counter and asked to be served. The room was musty and out dated... although I had a balcony, there was no furniture available to even sit outside and have a drink. The doorman was never around to open the lobby doors, which in my opinion, is a must at this level of accommodation. The property itself could be lovely and the pool and gym area has potential, but unfortunately, this is one Intercontinental that fails to impress. Spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room with a view of the Plaza... cheaper rooms overlook the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience and we certainly regret that we failed to exceed your expectations.

Our rooms are fully renovated with-in the last three years and our staff has earned their way into the top 10 of all InterContinentals in the Americas for guest service. My aplogies that you did not experience this level of service. Should you wish to share any specific details with me, you may do so at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing