We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

The College Basketball Experience
Ranked #42 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The College Basketball Experience (CBE) is the nation's official hall of fame for men's collegiate basketball. A highly interactive sports facility, The CBE is the anti sports hall of fame. You may sweat here! Fun for the entire family.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are a college basketball fan you should check this out. Very interactive.There are courts that you can shoot and play around at.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank STLguy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    74
    12
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
180 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I recently visited the CBE with a friend while in KC. We had a blast with all of the interactive exhibits. Our favorites were probably the "dunk station" (rims lowered to 7'-9'), the 3 point shootout, and the broadcasters booth (allows you to film yourself like you are on ESPN).
In addition, they had the new NBA 2K13 available to play on XBOX 360 which was a nice bonus.

The facility was very well kept. It was clean, well-lit, and provided a very fun atmosphere.

I really only have 2 criticisms. First, I felt that the "museum" part of the CBE was lacking. There was some stuff to read, but it could have been better. For example, having old player uniforms, having more video footage, etc. I have been to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in New Castle, IN and felt that even this small museum had better "museum exhibits."

Secondly, we visited on a weekday and there was NO ONE there. When we first arrived there were about 30-40 kids on a field trip. They left after about an hour and then it was just us in a 2 story museum for about 2 hours. Eventually, I saw 4 other people. That's it. Therefore, we couldn't really use the full-court or 3 on 3 court. This isn't something that the museum can really fix...just something to keep in mind if you are planning to come on a weekday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Inquisitive_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basketball FANS”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Actually have only 'seen' it as we entered the facility for another concert, but all reports are positive for good experience.

Helpful?
Thank FlyNavyKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very interactive”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I went for a field trip one time. This place is amazing!! Everything is interactive and super fun! Even if you don't like basketball I guarantee you will have fun. Plan on standing hours in there.

Helpful?
Thank taylor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city, oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Meh. The kids liked it.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a decent museum, with a lot of info about college basketball. We had fun doing some of the interactive games and activities. Overall I felt it was a little expensive for what you get.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank digitalsabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBEManagement, Executive at The College Basketball Experience, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thanks for your comment! The CBE's pricing is actually cheaper than that of attending a major motion picture at a local theater but provides endless hours of fun and activity for the whole family.

When compared to other local attractions, The CBE is in-line and often below general pricing for other attractions while offering more that 90-minutes to 2 hours of enjoyment.

Thanks again for your comment(s).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The College Basketball Experience also viewed

 

Been to The College Basketball Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing