We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice walking distance to downtown area.
Staff was very friendly and helpful in recommending places to eat and provided discount cards for restaurants.
Pool/workout center was difficult to figure out how to get to - only one elevator takes you to the top floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and helpful feedback on access to our Fitness Center. I trust you found our newly renovated center useful to your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I usually like marriotts...but this one needs some TLC. Moldy damp smelling rooms, loose faucets. Staff is very kind but the hotel itself just needs a makeover. Here for busy time during All Star week and front desks are not fully staffed. Guest services disappears for a long time leaving desk unattended. Food is rough. Go somewhere else for a good meal. Pillows are tired, hard and flat. Cleaning crew left rubber gloves in hall way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Rather a long work trip but staff pleasant and room comfortable. Great gym.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

A good place to work off stresses, comfortable accommodations and a smile can take the edge off a wearying work trip. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel:

Great:
Location
Bed
Friendly staff
Coffee

Not so good:
The A/C didn't seem to cool the room.
Water pressure in the shower was extremley low.
No refrigerator in room.

Room Tip: For the best view request a room looking over the fountain and 12th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toolman195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Second stay here and, again, we loved it! Front desk staff was very friendly, which makes for a good first impression. The new lobby opened the day we checked out and I only wish we could have stayed to enjoy it. It is absolutely beautiful and inviting. The rooms are large, and the health club and pool cannot be beat. We had a north view from our 20th floor room and I can honestly say that it is just as lovely as the city view we had the stay prior to this one. If you are a Concierge-level guest you can enjoy the city view from the lounge. $13/day self-park in the garage below the hotel and I felt very safe parking there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undercoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your generous comments. Hope to see you and your family soon. We are receiving favorable reviews on our new BARCENTRAL and trust you will enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Pros: Excellent downtown location, next to convention center, older but remodeled, excellent fitness center (one of the better ones I've seen), clean, overall a good/safe place to stay. Valet and hotel staff friendly. Exciting and dazzling light display at night on the exterior of the building.

Cons: This hotel focuses on the business customer that's in town for less than three days. I merely give it an 'average' rating as it's your typical 3.5 brand name downtown hotel which can be found in any major city. Lots of charges for everything --- parking fees, wireless internet fees, etc. The rooms are clean and have nice views but they are nothing to go 'wow' over when you walk in. No fridge or microwaves either -- if you're here for seven days like I was, plan on driving to a store and get a disposable ice chest. Wet bar? It look like there use to be one in my room but not anymore. There is a pool but it's indoor; great for the winter months I guess but sort of wish there was something outside for those that want to enjoy the warm spring/summer weather (I realize it's a downtown location but I'm sure something could be done to make an outdoor pool happen on the property with some creative Marriott thinking).

Overall: As mentioned, it's a nice hotel, you won't be disappointed, but it just feels like every other standard brand hotel that's out there --- the rooms inside don't distinguish from other hotel or resort properties I have visited across the world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southpugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The lobby has been nicely redone. There was still work being done elsewhere though as we found out when we heard loud sawing while we were trying to hold a meeting. Someone also turned all the lights off in the meeting room a couple of times while we were in there.

My room was nice, but every night I would get up several times to turn down the temperature. The air conditioning would come on for a while then the temperature would go back up. The second morning I found I'd set the thermostat to 64 in the dark and it was still hot in the room. I stopped off at the front desk and asked them to have the thermostat fixed. Someone left a note on the room's desk while I was out saying it had been fixed but it hadn't been.

While it looks nice and is well located, still needs work. I would not intend to hold another meeting until they've got everything finished.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank steveh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#45 of 109 in Kansas City
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $188 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing