We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in Kansas City.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Business in Kansas City.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a conference. Not amazing, service not the best (except for the valet staff who were awesome), but the area sure is fun. Check out the River Market (it'swalking distance) and the art museum!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagnyBrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    383
    222
    95
    51
See reviews for
113
150
38
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Took 4 hours to check in at a none peak time (10pm) due to being booked into a room where another customer was already staying. They even gave us (two women) keys to his room but thankfully he had the dead bolt locked. Was promised a fridge and microwave which is needed for medical reasons but was hassled during check in and ended up with just a fridge (claims to not have microwave when it was promised during reservations). Manager was rude when dealing with check in and throughout stay. Would NOT recommend this hotel when there are others in the area (one block away) that are the same price with more courteous service!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I didn't have to pay for this hotel out of my own money as it was a business trip. The hotel needs to be updated. My room, the bathtub drained very slowly so it was filling up with water while taking a shower.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stldebbie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not spectacular, not terrible:

GOOD:
-coffee cart in lobby...easy and yummy.
-helpful & friendly staff
-close to the Power and Light Distrcit (lots of restaurants and bars nearby)
-excellent gym on the top floor...great views!

NOT SO GOOD:
-uncomfortable bed...dipped on both sides so I had to sleep in the middle for any kind of support
-thin walls and doors...could hear every person that walked down the hall or flushed their toilet next door

Room Tip: Get as far from the elevators as possible...I was four rooms away and STILL heard the bell and doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Being in town for a event at the KC convention center, we needed a place to stay that was relatively close and clean. We decided upon the Marriott based on a rate that was given by our organization. We walked into the main building to find a efficient front desk and awesome concierge that assist in any way possible. We were placed in the tower building on the top floor (18th) and were amazed at the view being in a corner room and having the high ceilings being on the top. The room was spacious and spotless, however lacked a few things like extra electric outlets that would have made it perfect. Upon checking in we had a water pressure problem, but within 15 minutes someone was at our room and fixed it. In addition since we were there for the week we requested a refrig which was provided free of charge. The beds were comfy but the TV was a bit fuzzy. The main building was connected by way of bridge to the tower which was cool to walk over especially at night to see all the lights. In addition the main building houses a restaurant, coffee bar, and pool/fitness center which all proved useful and efficient during my stay. The bus line will pick you up right out front and for three dollars one can hop on and hop off all day... what a deal! and go places like country club plaza and the federal reserve. There is also a grocery store around the corner that has a great food area where one can get made to order sandwiches, fix a salad, or have sushi. Overall a great stay and a convenient location for power and light and the KC convention center! I will definitely stay again if back in KC!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is just a few blocks, (within walking distance), of the Power and Light District. It is so nice and clean and the staff rocks. You ask for it and it is no problem to get it!

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows. Their pillows are so great...I can never have enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cswanson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything was great - friendly service, complementary iced-drinks, a fitness room on the top floor overseeing the entire city, a clean room, and amazingly soft pillows!!

The only one minor complaint is having the exact same breakfast (eggs/bacon/sausage/cereal/oatmeal/fruit) and the same snacks throughout the day (peanuts/pretzels/tea/coffee/other drinks/yogurt) in the executive lounge. It can get a little boring after a while!

The second minor complaint was that it was very expensive (over $200/night)!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room that's below the fitness room. You'll hear people running on trea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfnswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 108 in Kansas City
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing