We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth it for the view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worth it for the view!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The view of downtown Kansas City from the 18th floor was amazing! So worth checking out. My King Room was spacious

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    383
    222
    95
    51
See reviews for
113
150
38
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I was coming to Kansas City for a conference that was being held at the Marriott D/T, so we had a pretty fair rate even though there were some cheaper rates nearby but for these conferences it sometimes better to stay in the conference hotel. When I checked in was told our room was in the Mulhebach Tower which was across the bridge, so trudged up the elevator, across the bridge and up to the room. Asked for higher floor but the trainee at the desk really couldn't figure it out, got a middle floor which was OK. Room was basic room with desk and corner chair, tried to get my computer set up and looked for outlets in desk or lights but there weren't any, had to pull lamp plug and put in the power cord I carry in computer bag. Room never really cooled down

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent the night of April 13, 2012 at the Downtown Marriott because I was in town for a conference. This is a nice place by all standards, and there is no reason not to feel comfortable here. This is the main thing I liked about being here-we were able to walk around downtown in that 24+ hour time without having to take our car out of the parking garage. However, you actually have to pay to park at the hotel. I'm not used to that. $13 to park yourself and $18 for valet.

The thing I didn't like was the inavailability of snacks and beverages by the ice machine. We started at the 2nd floor (I think) and went down, and did not find any beverages/snacks by the ice machines and went to the bar and got a small bottle of water for $1.50 (possible reason there were no machines?-inducement to trade at restaurant, bar?). We decided to see if we could find any beverages/snacks as we were told they were to be one or the other on every floor. We did find beverages (a much larger bottle of water for $1.75) on the 4th floor and at that point gave up our search.

Also, this hotel is in two separate buildings (actually according to Wiki there are three http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muehlebach_Hotel). We stayed in the Muehlebach building which I was in several times as a kid and remembered it's grandeur then. I wish I'd gone in and seen the original lobby. We, however, went in the main entrance and walked quite a distance across a skywalk. This is a nice place, just for the price, I'd expect free parking and accessibility to beverages, etc. In some ways, middle-class digs provide more for less.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponyexpresstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

great room, great service, wonderful for what we were there for (conference). we were in the second tower (across the pedway from the main lobby) and found it to be great access to the convention centre, and all the amenities we needed. close to the power and lights district (a few blocks) and the beautiful square across the street for enjoying the sunshine. Lilly's had good food as well as the lounge (although the service in the lounge was TERRIBLE, the service during the day at the restaurant was excellent.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutiepatootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while celebrating our anniversary a couple weeks ago.

We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and by our surprise, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite on the 20th floor! It was the such an amazing view of the city at night, and the room was HUGE and very clean! The General Manager personally assisted me with our reservation and was so sweet and kind.

You have the option to pay for valet parking, or you can self-park as well. It's only a couple blocks from Power & Light and the Sprint Center. It's so nice to be able to drop off your bags and go out for the night without ever needing to drive.

We have stayed at a few of the hotels downtown, and this was by far our best experience. The rooms were more spacious, extremely clean, and the staff was very professional. I will definitely be returning!

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for the business traveler, couples, and/or families. They seem to be very diverse and able to accommodate all guests.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The downtown Marriott is a conference hotel. It’s large, contains a number of meeting rooms, and is adjacent to the enormous KC Convention Center.

I stayed three nights for an academic conference held in the hotel, and the meeting facilities were fine.

This is actually two separate hotels: the main Marriott building and the Muhlebach Tower, which is across the street and connected via Skyway.

I’ll admit upfront that I am not a fan of the Marriott chain. I’ve always found them to be generic-looking, bland, and overpriced. Therefore, my opinion might be skewed.

That said, a few things were irksome. Internet access is now free at most bargain hotels, but it costs $10 per day here. (In addition, the signal was weak.) The blinds let in quite a bit of light, no matter how much they were adjusted. The clothes iron in my room seemed like it might have cost around $3 at Wal-Mart; it leaked water and got a stain on one shirt.

The downtown Marriott is a perfectly adequate place to stay for a conference, assuming your company is paying. It’s conveniently located and offers all of the usual amenities, and my limited interactions with staff were all fine.

If you are vacationing or paying your own bill, I would find somewhere else. There are several other options in the downtown area that might better fit your needs.

Room Tip: The views are probably nice from the higher floors, particularly at Christmas time. KC puts up milli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is undergoing a remodel. Normally that would be very disrupting. While here (for three days) I have not seen any of the workers or the "undergoing construction". The hotel is clean, the rooms nice and comfortable, and the area is very pleasing.

Room Tip: Choose one that looks at the downtown. The gym is on the 22nd floor - it is the best I have seen at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 108 in Kansas City
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing