We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under renovation, so high hopes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Under renovation, so high hopes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Lobby is under renovation as are some of the rooms. In its current state it's very dated. The hotel is convenient location to downtown businesses and the power and light district for dinner or a night out.

Once the renovations are completed, I'm sue Sid give the hotel a higher rating, but until then I can't.

Room Tip: I prefer the main tower over the new Mulbach(not sure of spelling) tower, which you need to take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    375
    222
    95
    51
See reviews for
109
147
38
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel when I traveled for business in Downtown Kansas City. Since I was a platinum rewards member, my room would be pre-assigned and check-in would be quite smooth. Rooms were always clean, good room service and decent fitness center at the hotel. Wireless internet is a $10 fee which of course is waived for gold & platinum members. It gets a bit crowded when there are events or conventions going on. The concierge lounge can be improved especially with their limited options in their breakfast buffet. The hotel is a short walk to the Power & Light district and is a good choice if you need to stay in the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is the hotel chosen by the conference being held. At check in we were charged for parking when it was included in rate. The hotel had been paid for in advance by his company. And this is just the beginning.

We were told we had to go to the second floor to get to our room because we had to get on another elevator to get there. We got off on the second floor (with all our bags of course) and no idea where to go. An individual who worked there walked us to where we needed to go. We weren't actually staying the the Towers, we were in Muelenbach Towers. In order to get there, we had to go across a skywalk, through a door and then go on those elevators to get to our floor. It was truly a pain to do this ( since I had foot surgery a few weeks ago).

After getting to our room, which was very dated, we heard this noise in the pipes when flushing our toliet. Little did we know that whenever someone else flushed the sink drain would make noise, including letting the bath water out. All night long, we heard this after traveling a good part of the day.

Doors slamming and it was noisy that night as well. I heard people getting ice, elevator, you name it, it happened.

The next morning we complained about the pipe noise, they sent someone over to check it out. He did a little bit in there, most of the time spent outside the room. He came back in and said that the pipes in all the rooms make noise. He told us to pull the drain stopper up to help alleviate some of the noise.

Our last night there we went to Lily's Restaurant in the hotel to eat. It wasn't busy and we ordered sandwiches and oh my, it took a very long time to get our food. It wasn't crowded and we spent over 2 hours in there. We weren't checked on about our food once it came out and took an extremely long time to get our check as well.

I would not stay in this hotel again and hope the conference next year is held somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamajdc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Grove, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We attended a 4 day convention at the Convention Center and very much enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. Location couldn't have been better, room & beds comfortable,clean & quiet. We ate in the restaurant one night; good food and service. All of the staff was friendly,professional and helpful. We have had our convention in Kansas City now for the past 6 years and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. Kansas City is a great convention city and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

A typical, standard Marriott - clean, comfortable, convenient location. The lobby is undergoing renovations so it's currently unimpressive but that didn't interfere with our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The front desk was very helpful and patient in responding to my myriad of questions. The hotel is a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the Sprint Center and the restaurants around it. I would stay here again .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbee201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We usually enjoy our stays at Marriott Hotels - but this one cuts so many corners! The bed are uncomfortable. The pillows are about 2/3rds the size of a normal pillow and flat as a pancake. We called housekeeping and asked for 4 extra pillows. The lady who brought them up was angry that she had to do so and marched into the room and THREW them on the bed with me in the bed. Lilly's restaurant has terrible service. We waited nearly an hour for two sandwiches and were given the excuse that our order took longer because of what we had ordered. Our order was a pot roast sandwich and a Reuben sandwich, both of which would have had precooked meats. The elevators are inadequate for the number of people staying there. We often had to wait 10-15 minutes to get an elevator that wasn't completely full. I would choose any other hotel in the area over this one.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I would have liked to give the hotel 3.5 stars (circles?), but that's not possible. I was there in March for a business trip, and the hotel served it's purpose as expected.

The views are very nice and the rooms are clean and a decent size. I was never awed or wowed by anything in particular, but I was never really disappointed either.

The front desk staff was cordial but not as welcoming/helpful as should have been expected.

The restaurant in the hotel is not great, but the gym is very nice.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Split2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#42 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing