We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for Business Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Pros:

The Marriott Downtown - Kansas City is within walking distance of the convention center and other businesses within the downtown area.

Comfortable beds and spacious accommodations.

Decent hotel restaurant (Lilly's) compared to many.

Overall service is good.

Cons:

No fridge or safe in the room.

Dated rooms.

TV quality is horrid.

Neutral:

$9.95/day for wireless internet (performance was okay).

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators. Views are pretty good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooHereandthereoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Kansas City Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Had never stayed there before and probably wont again. Very dated. They are doing a complete remodel of the front desk/lobby area but as is it feels like a time warp to 1986. Rooms are very average with mismatching furniture but clean and above average in size. Rooms facing the north do have great views of the downtown airport and the river market area.

If the hotel is updated it will be great, but for the price it is not worth the stay. The Holiday Inn and the Crown Plaza are all within a block. Stay there unless the rates are lowered and its updated this hotel will struggle.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feetinthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

First of all, we entered at the Marriott building connected to the parking garage. There was a desk area, but no one was there. There was a sign that said to go to another area with no directions of how to get there. I would assume that this area was in the same building we were in. After asking around we find out that the lobby is in another building. The employee points out the door. It turns out we have to go up the elevator to a covered walk way or go back outside and walk across the street to get to the other building. After traveling for four hours and hauling our luggage from the parking garage to the first building this was getting very frustrating. The directions of how to get from one area to another are non-existant. Check-in was fine. We decided to go to the pool which is on the 22nd floor. When we got in the elevator there was no 22nd floor button. We went up to 21 and had to take the stairs to the 22nd floor. It turns out that only one of the elevators in the hotel goes to the 22nd floor. No signs at all of where to go to get to the pool. Evidently we went up the wrong stairwell, you can only get to the pool from the other stairwell. Directions once again would have helped tremendously. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MARRIOTT KANSAS CITY. We were there for a convention and would never stay here again. Also, they charge $10.00 for internet when you can go anywhere else and get it for free. What a rip-off!

Room Tip: If you want a room by the pool be sure to reserve in advance.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rysmom8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear rysmom8821:

I am terribly sorry that your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations. This is not the outcome we strive to give each guest. I would like to discuss your stay with you in further detail. I can be reached by calling 816.421.6800. Thank you for your comments.
Carol Pecoraro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a work convention in mid January.
Pros:
In the middle of downtown - lots of good eating options close by
Friendly staff - Everyone I met at the Hotel was extremely friendly and outgoing
Fitness Room - I try to stay active when traveling and the fitness center (on the top floor) was great. Tons of room for cardio equipment and free weights. I wish all Hotel Fitness Centers were like this hotel.
Convention Center - within walking distance of the convention center. You can also take underground passages if the weather is too cold.

Cons:
The hotel lobby was under going a major renovation and therefore it was tough to meet others in a central location.
The two towers of the hotel was a little confusing as we had co-workers in both locations
Even though our room was clean, the furnishing were outdated and seemed a little worse for wear.

Overall, I would stay here again for another convention. My personal travels don't take me through KC much, so I don't believe I will be staying here in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereamInow09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, Director of Marketing at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear WhereamInow09:

Thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay. Downtown Kansas City is a great place to stay with all that there is going on. The construction you saw during your visit is for the new MI Greatroom. We are very excited about all the services and amenities this addition will add for all of our guests. I apologize if this caused any inconvenience for your during your visit. We hope that you will give us another try when your travels bring you back to Kansas City.
Cynthia Savage
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My first trip to KC, MO and stayed here for a week on business. The entire staff that I dealt with, from the valets to room service were great. Friendly and attentive. The lounge was being remodled during my stay but the library provided and acceptable alternative to supply the after work cocktails. It's a great meeting area. My room was spotless and maintained that way each day during my stay.
The hotel is located in an area surrounded by some great eateries. Everything from very, very upscale to good old local fare with some good grub. All in all, I was surprised not just by this hotel but by downtown KC. Mostly in a good way. I would certainly stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, Director of Marketing at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Mike and Jim:
Thank you for your positive feedback. Every guest is important to us and we strive to give excellent customer service. We hope you will choose the Kansas City Marriott Downtown when your travels bring you back this way.
Sincerely,
Cynthia Savage
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Perfect location for New Years! We stayed an extra day and took advantage of the fitness center and the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel the last week of January 2012. I was underwhelmed by the lobby since they are in the process of renovations. The front desk staff not very friendly and our service in the restaurant was not very good. The sleeping rooms were nicely appointed and clean, the housekeeping staff did an excellent job.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 109 in Kansas City
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $210 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing