We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place for business travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
206 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice place for business travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My first trip to KC, MO and stayed here for a week on business. The entire staff that I dealt with, from the valets to room service were great. Friendly and attentive. The lounge was being remodled during my stay but the library provided and acceptable alternative to supply the after work cocktails. It's a great meeting area. My room was spotless and maintained that way each day during my stay.
The hotel is located in an area surrounded by some great eateries. Everything from very, very upscale to good old local fare with some good grub. All in all, I was surprised not just by this hotel but by downtown KC. Mostly in a good way. I would certainly stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, Director of Marketing at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Mike and Jim:
Thank you for your positive feedback. Every guest is important to us and we strive to give excellent customer service. We hope you will choose the Kansas City Marriott Downtown when your travels bring you back this way.
Sincerely,
Cynthia Savage
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    347
    207
    86
    50
See reviews for
101
142
37
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Perfect location for New Years! We stayed an extra day and took advantage of the fitness center and the pool.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel the last week of January 2012. I was underwhelmed by the lobby since they are in the process of renovations. The front desk staff not very friendly and our service in the restaurant was not very good. The sleeping rooms were nicely appointed and clean, the housekeeping staff did an excellent job.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
214 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on business for a week, then returned the next week again on business, so have spent a grand total of 2 weeks at the hotel and by the end of next month will spend another two weeks here.

The hotel and staff are very helpful from the concierge to the bell hops to the maid staff everyone was pleasant to deal with.

Bonnie in the concierge lounge {20th floor} was very nice to chat with in the evenings. The room, king, was large and fairly spacious {unlike some hotels, I did not have to leave the room to change my mind}

The only thing, if I had to find fault with the hotel, is that there are no safes in the rooms. I was on business and was carrying about $4K in laptop and other equipment. I carried my backpack when I was at Libbys or when I was at the lounge because there was no safe in the room.

However, with that said, the hotel and staff are great, and if you go across the street you can watch the light show they put on across the facade.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCPDump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this property in the older tower for a little less than a week on business. Maybe the newer tower is better, but the old tower was tired and in serious need of renovations. For a Marriott property in a convention area, this place needs to be updated. The furniture was all beat up and the tv stand wasn't changed when they went with flat panels. The desk was small, made even smaller by all the junk that was on the desk. Buy new tv stands, and all that can go with the tv - give me my workspace.Power outlets were scarce and difficult to access. Paint on the ceiling was cracked and chipping. I was afraid the bathroom countertop would fall off at any moment, the plumbing might have been holding it up.

On the bright side - internet connection was quite good, but that's about the only good thing at this property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astebelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2011 and accidentally left my toiletry bag in the room. I immediately called and the front desk connected me to their security office. They assured me they would mail me by bag and I should receive it in the next few days. After several weeks I called the hotel and was told they sent it to the wrong address and it was returned to the hotel. They would resend. Again I waited and then called multiple times only to be assured over and over again that someone would get back to me. NO ONE HAS EVER CALLED ME. Finally in December I was told my bag had been delivered way back in October only to the wrong address and was never recovered. I am disappointed in the entire staff including the property manager's office who I also called and was promised a call back. I'm still waiting!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for an annual conference, and most definitely enjoyed my stay!! The beds are incredible, some of the best sleep I've had in I couldn't even tell you how long!! The staff were ALL extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. The only negative I could say is with regard to the restaurant, the service my day of arrival was hit and miss, buffet wan't the highest quality one would expect from a Marriott. The coffee shop on the lobby level is amazing, highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklynwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#38 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#15 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing