We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for kids - Great food”
Review of Pot Pie

Pot Pie
Ranked #80 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not for kids - Great food”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I loved it, but it is a small place and not really suited to kids. I say go elsewhere if you have anybody younger than 12 in the group. BUT - great food, great atmsophere, wonderful staff. Absolutely worth going to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smillie-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Local Restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

One of the few restaurants that locals know and consistently eat at but people from out of town might not come to unless someone has recommended it to them. We have eaten here for 5 - 7 years and the food is always excellent. While the menu (chalkboard) is limited, it always has a fish (my favorite), chicken ( my wife's favorite), scallops, and steak dish. They also have their namesake of chicken or turkey pot pie which are wonderful and more than one person can eat. The restaurant is small and reservations especially on weekends are a must. They have been featured on TV several times. The restaurant is small and you typically get involved with talking to people at tables close to you. Their fish dishes are consistently some of the best I have had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcpoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Again”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I ate here Saturday, May 3. We arrived at 4:53 and waited for them to open at 5 pm. If you are looking for ambience, this is not your place. It is dark and dready. Feels unclean. The red bench at the front window is soiled. Our greeting was "do you have reservations?" Not hello, not hi we are glad you are here. We weren't asked if we had a preference in seating. We were sat at a table with nearly 95% varnish worn off and very small. We watched as staff visited and wondered where our waitress was.

We tried beet salad, spinach/brie tart, and chicken pot pie. We shared all of these as there was nothing else on the 8 entree menu that enterested us. The salad was one-note. No pop in flavor, no complexity, very mundane. The tart was fine, but nothing special. The same for the chicken pot pie. The only vegetables we could find were corn and carrots. No green beans, no peas, nothing else. It was under salted and we are extremely sodium conscious. We asked for salt and pepper.

The bartender in black Carhardt overalls never once smiled. He did however answer my wine question. The 2 glasses of wine was my favorite part of the meal. Sad. Bill was $46.

Theres so many other terrific restaurants in Kansas City that are happy you are there and serve very delicious food. My recommendation is to skip this dungeon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Knobtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is just fabulous. We sat at the bar and the bartender was wonderful. Excellent cocktails and the food was amazing. The mussels and pan roasted chicken are must haves! We finally decided to try this place last minute as a casual date night outing and we're both very glad that we did. Will definitely go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank casantos5081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as prior recommendations suggest...”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Dined with 3 work colleagues and couldn't find enough superlatives to describe the experience.
Good cocktails, fun bartender, great Zydeco music (live!) and a short but well-chosen wine list.
Mussels, Beetroot Salad, Chicken Pot Pie, Osso Buco and Roast Chicken ordered; all excellent. Simply prepared, unfussy and flavoursome.
Keep up the great work.
To quote the Governator, "I'll be back".

Helpful?
1 Thank BBnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pot Pie also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Pot Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing