We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Baseball Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Negro Leagues Baseball Museum

Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.00*
and up
Kansas City Jazz Excursion
Ranked #8 of 151 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1991, this museum is a tribute to some of baseball's best unknown players.
Franklin Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
“Great Baseball Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

A great tribute to the Negro Leagues. A fun and informative museum. I was disappointed that you could not take pictures in the museum itself. I did not see the point of this. Thanks to Geddy Lee of Rush who donated a few hundred of his personally signed balls from his collection to the museum. Overall a good experience and would go back if in the Kansas City area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank drw2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    197
    33
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New haven
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Must for Baseball fans and others”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Negro League Museum in Kansas City is fascinating. We spent about 90 minutes there and could have spent longer. It is a terrific history lesson also --- beginning with the earliest days of baseball (it was somewhat integrated) through the integration of what is now major league baseball. We had a great time and also enjoyed the well stocked museum shop.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cavalier_Spaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small but mighty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great little tour. Learned a great deal, and the final field of honor is great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank corwinIBpueblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome Expreience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place was just so cool. They did a great job of telling the story of the Negro Leagues and portraying their impact on history. I had a blast. If you are a baseball fan, you can't miss this museum.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Split2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fascinating for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

The movies they show are fascinating and I went as the chaperone of a large group of children. Even the kids were enthralled. Very interesting stuff to learn about Kansas City and I was a long time resident. We were actually there prior to April of 2011 and the legendary Buck O'Neal was there prior to his death. I brought all our family and KC visitors there after my initial trip as it gives such a great piece of KC history.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negro Leagues Baseball Museum also viewed

 

Been to Negro Leagues Baseball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing