We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rainy day activity”

Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Kansas City Hop on-Hop off Day Pass
Ranked #2 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a collection of life-like sculptures.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice rainy day activity”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'm not an art buff but it definitely was a nice way to spend a rainy afternoon. Good quality and variety. Nice grounds, as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,938
    345
    43
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, Bucks, England
Level Contributor
300 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Worth going just for the sculture gardens”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Art is not really our "thing" - but we like the odd - and we had heard there were 18ft shuttlecocks on the lawn of this imposing art gallery. We were not disappointed by these or the Henry Moore's or the big silver sparkling tree. A nice morning stroll with some "culture".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Kansas City treasure”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Nelson-Atkins is a museum that is truly a Kansas City treasure, adored by locals and visitors alike. The admission is free and the art works contained within its walls are incredible. There is so much to see, with art from the oldest of the old to the newest and most modern, you will find something to fall in love with. The Nelson is just a few blocks from the beloved Plaza, and is, indeed, a do-not-miss attraction. If you're a local and haven't been here, go now!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Years ago I bought a poster of a painting, and on the bottom it said "Nelson-Atkins Gallery Of Art." I finally decided to go there so that I could see the painting in person, and I'm glad I did. My trip to Kansas City was worth every penny spent, and much of owing to this superb art gallery. If you like 20th Century Art, there is no reason not to come here. The admission is free, the building is absolutely beautiful, and the grounds are sprinkled with many famous and likeable sculptures.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Awesome building, grounds and gift shop.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went for the Native American antiquities gallery. Well laid out with some superb items in this collection. The building is beautiful and scaled with appropriate stature and materials. Convenient parking under the building opening into the building interior.

You could easily spend the whole day viewing all the galleries, including outside grounds, and have some lunch or drink in the atrium cafeteria, followed by an hour in the gift shop. Within walking distance from the Plaza. The gift shop alone is a highlight. Don't think I've ever been to a museum gift shop as well stocked and varied with curiosities, books, toys, cards, jewelry, prints, gadgets and fun stuff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Augustspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing