We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another must see for out-of-town guests!”

Arabia Steamboat Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Kansas City Single Loop City Tour
Ranked #3 of 154 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Arabia Steamboat Museum is a favorite Kansas City attraction, a history museum housing 200 tons of cargo from life on the American frontier in 1856.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another must see for out-of-town guests!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've been at least 15 times (maybe more) and take any and all out-of-town guests to this awesome "dig" museum. The most spectacular thing is...this was excavated and is maintained completely FREE of any tax dollars! Private enterprise at its best!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,245
    298
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Midwest Mystery”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I visited the Steamboat Arabia Museum with my teenage children. A very nice museum with fantastic displays of the 'treasures' found when the Steamboat Arabia was excavated from a Kansas field years ago. I couldn't believe the thousands of buttons retrieved from the merchandise cargo area of the boat. It's the "Titanic" of the Midwest. The history of the Missouri River changing course and the various displays were both educational and entertaining. Not a large museum, but well worth the admission fee. We enjoyed learning about the Steamboat Arabia. *Side note-I would not recommend this museum for those traveling with younger children. There are several glass cases filled with fine breakables. Larger portions of the original boat are displayed to portray the idea of how big the steamboat was in it's day. These displays are out in the open and may tempt little ones to run around and climb on them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After being buried in the river sands for more than a hundred years this exhibit is a great learning experience.

Helpful?
Thank Waterman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was a chaperone for my sons field trip to the Steamboat Arabia. I was pleasantly surprised. It was interesting to hear how it sunk and how many years had passed before they found it and all of its treasures. The tour takes just a little over an hour I think and to look at all they had discovered is truly amazing. Very good for adults and will keep children 10+ interested.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank McGee4Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Very Unique Museum”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a really interesting museum with a fascinating story about a riverboat wreck that was hidden from sight for over 130 years and the family that decided to try to find and salvage it. You learn about the history of the boat, riverboat travel in the 1850's, the shifting Missouri River, all that it took to find the wreckage site, and the efforts to recover all of the artifacts from it. There are parts of the boat that were recovered, but what I found most interesting, was the amount of cargo that had been preserved in the shipwreck and was brought up and restored for display. It gives a picture of what life was like in the 1850's and what types of things were commonly shipped up the river for sale. It was amazing to see how well preserved much of the cargo was. It is displayed very well, the docent who gave the tour was excellent, and there is an informative film that describes the recovery process. This is a must see museum if you are in Kansas City.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arabia Steamboat Museum also viewed

 

Been to Arabia Steamboat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing