We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joplin's best steak house”

Wilder's Steakhouse
Ranked #16 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wilder's Steakhouse is part of Joplin's past and future. As the third owners of the restaurant we find our selves stewards of a historical piece of the Joplin landscape. Originally opened in 1929 by Mr. Verne Wilder it grew to encompass the 1200 block of main street with banquet facilities, bar, package sales, dining room and featured speak easy functions upstairs. We wish these walls could talk - we have had some really great stories shared by guests of the restaurant. We purchased Wilder's in 1996 and are proud to have uncovered some of the original beauty of the 1908 building we dwell in. As a fine dining restaurant in Joplin we strive to give all of our guests a wonderful dining experience and uphold ourselves to very high standards. Please come in and join us for our hormone and antibiotic free Black Angus Beef or some wonderful Wild Caught Seafood. We are always accepting reservations. See you soon.
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Joplin's best steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This had to be the best steak I have ever had locally. Our waitress was awesome service was great and the atmosphere was also. Will go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carthage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucerias
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere ,Old Time Restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Eat here many times & always enjoyed. Service is good . Steaks are some of the best in Joplin. I like the salmon on the menu. Good variety of other dishes on the menu. Booths are wooden like in the old days when this was the place to eat in Joplin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicoBucerias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This really is one of the best meals in Joplin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's been more than 25 years since I've eaten here, as usual the service was extraordinarily gracious, and I must say that the addition of Sean Flannigan to the Executive Chef position was the best call ever. The truffled mac and cheese "YAY!" - roasted baby brussels sprouts "YAY!" I'm vegetarian living in a sea of meatie loving people so it is always a super nice surprise to be able to join at a steak house and have the menu reflect care and attention to my veggie people! We'll be back once more before we go home. And again when we return! Super excited to try Flannigan's newest gem "Brunchenette" tomorrow morning! #WINNING

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We found this while traveling, thanks to trip advisor, and what a gem. It is an original 1920's style classy restaurant. The original style has been well preserved. The food was excellent and our waitress, exceptional! I am looking forward to returning on anther trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaunyaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holy 40oz Steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to Wilder's late one evening. The interior was beautiful. Great mood lighting and the decorations were old fashion and well kept. We ordered a 40oz steak and split it between the two of us. It was huge! That was the largest steak I have ever had and it was pretty tasty too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilder's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wilder's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing