We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak”

Wilder's Steakhouse
Ranked #16 of 225 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Wilder's Steakhouse is part of Joplin's past and future. As the third owners of the restaurant we find our selves stewards of a historical piece of the Joplin landscape. Originally opened in 1929 by Mr. Verne Wilder it grew to encompass the 1200 block of main street with banquet facilities, bar, package sales, dining room and featured speak easy functions upstairs. We wish these walls could talk - we have had some really great stories shared by guests of the restaurant. We purchased Wilder's in 1996 and are proud to have uncovered some of the original beauty of the 1908 building we dwell in. As a fine dining restaurant in Joplin we strive to give all of our guests a wonderful dining experience and uphold ourselves to very high standards. Please come in and join us for our hormone and antibiotic free Black Angus Beef or some wonderful Wild Caught Seafood. We are always accepting reservations. See you soon.
Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a long time place for Joplin, a little bit on the high side but the food is very good. The building is old and very interesting to be in. Everyone say their drinks are good. I can speak to their steaks and they are great and prepared how you request

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webb City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the place traveling salesmen go to entertain their clients. The food is excellent. The service is great. And, as I mentioned earlier, Wilders and Crabby's are tied for #1 in upscale places to eat in Joplin. There is quite a history that goes along with the building.
We had our wedding rehearsal dinner here 47 years ago and the quality and the service hasn't changed a bit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ozarkamerican41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what i expected.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was disipointed with my visit.
service was fine but not much food and its really high priced.
I have eatin at many good steak houses but this one did not offer anything special except the prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingyeti32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Retro, classic steakhouse with some interior updates. Consistent menu with variety of entrees including beef, chicken, pasta, seafood, etc. Great for dinner for special occasion, or for appetizers & cocktails. Cozy booths.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kjoadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamar
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Joplin History and good food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wilder's has been in Joplin since long before I was born & I am 62! It has rooms for meetings besides regular dining. We were here for volunteer's meeting so again, I am not sure of the cost. I do think it might be in line with other steak house though. The food was excellent and encluded dessert. The service was right on! The meeting room was beautifully decorated for our Christmas meeting. The room was cozy and private so we could hear well. We definately enjoyed Wilder's.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilder's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wilder's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing