We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outright Thieves run this hotel”
Review of Sunrise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Inn
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Joplin
Reviewed December 6, 2006

We stopped for the night in Joplin on a road trip. Checked one other hotel, then Hallmark, which was a few dollars less. Checked in to a dingy, dirty, smelly room, 104. Found silverfish in the bathroom and killed them. Then we turned down the bed and found a huge spider in the bed. We went to the desk and demanded a refund. The desk clerk called the manager who said she would credit our credit card account in the morning and mail us a copy of the document. Of course, we never got a copy of the document and our credit card has not been credited. Oh - we went down the street to the Microtel, which is a really nice, clean hotel and spend a restful night there. We highly recommend the Microtel, but stay away from this scam called Americas Best.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
3  Thank Busylady1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2006

We were in Joplin at the end of June for the AA state baseball tounament. Our team lost so we left early. We got a credit on our bill before we checked out. When we got our credit card statement, this motel had recharged on the amount they had credited--meaning we payed $150 for one horrible night in a terrible motel. I have called repeatedly, and have been told we will check into it and call you back--THEY NEVER HAVE. I was just on hold for 10 minutes and I could hear them laughing in the background. Do yourself a favor--sleep in your car--it would be a better night sleep and would be safer!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Richland, Missouri
19
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We checked in at 12:13 am. on July 3rd,2006 after driving all day and just after eating at Denny's,(next door). We were qouted the best price within a few dollars of the neighboring hotels and decided to check-in.The night deskperson initially offered me room 104 and before I could depart from desk he immediately took my door card back and said he had to change us to room 105 instead. We went to room 105 and saw that lights were on already and proceeded to open door after knocking first (with caution as it looked rather strange) and found that room was already occupied and person (or persons) may be in bathroom!) Went back up to desk and was given irritable response from deskperson who then placed us in room 107. Room was dark and dingy with only 1 bed. Kids were excited to know that they had a pool to swim in when they woke in the morning. Was told about a fantastic hot bkfst bar from 6-9 am and don't miss it!!!!. Got up at 8:15am and went to Bkfst bar at 8:30 am and discovered that their bkfst bar had 1 scoop of scrambled eggs, 1 limp frozen waffle (uncooked) and 1/2 small insert pan of gravy I assumed was for biscuits that apparently were not there. Also, 3 bagels. The fresh fruit promised must've been invisible as well. I saw signs that said " No bkfst coupons, no hot bkfst" No carry-outs to room and only 1 trip thru the bkfst bar. If guest has problem with any of their restrictions then contact mgmnt. How rude of a notice can you get when you first wake up!! I went to front desk and spoke with mgr about condition of bkfst bar and was told not to get excited and that she would take care of it. She placed 6-8 biscuits ans waffles in microwave and appeared pretty satisfied with herself that she complied with the complimentary"hot bkfst" policy. I took a couple bowls of cereal and juice/coffee to room anyway as kids were just getting up. Checked out pool and it was as green as a new $20 bill. Was told that they had problems with keeping a regular maint. man and that they had had 5 just recently. Pool area was dirty and unkept. Grass growing around edges of pool. It was disgusting. Things can be disguised so easily in the dark when you check in at night. Had we been able to actually see the place by daylight, we would've left and spent that extra $10 bucks and stayed next door at Super 8. Sure seemed like their guests were enjoying their pool as I'm sure it was up to par! I can tell you at least 2 places in Branson, Mo., that you could stay at where what we paid for 1 night at Hallmark Inn, you could stay 2 night s for and they're decent and have pools that are crystal clean!! Thanks for reading.

R. Finley
Richland, Mo.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

This place is beyond terrible. It is dark, dingy, dirty and stinky. Our room was so gross, if we hadn't been so tired and ready to sleep, we would have left. The floor in our room had not been vacumed from the previous guests. The bathroom vanity was filty and I had to wipe it down myself, not to mention all the mold in the shower. The "free hot breakfast" consisted of frozen toaster waffles and watered down juice along with stale bagels. Just save yourself and don't bother booking a room there. The staff seem to have no pride in there establishment as was evidenced by a nasty guest who left a dirty baby diaper by the pool, which remained there all night and was still there when we lefted this dump. Just spend $10 more and go someplace decent. The only good thing we can say is that it is located convenient to the freeway, but please, keep on looking for a better stay, anywhere but here.

Stayed: May 2006
7  Thank TucsonEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Normal
13
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Read a review before booking...we did not find the room clean!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Tx
16
Reviewed August 5, 2005

I just stayed at Best Value Hallmark Inn in Joplin, MO. The front desk people were very pleasing. They are very cheerful and they met all of my needs. They were willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. The breakfast was excellent. They were very busy but they made everyone feel like they were on the top of there list. The rooms were very nice and clod. The housekeepers kept our room in excellent condition. I will go back everytime I go to Joplin. Thank you Jackie, Monica, Shelva, you girls brightened my day.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Constanze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Joplin
Super 8 Joplin
#18 of 24 in Joplin
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 24 in Joplin
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 24 in Joplin
943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Inn

Address: 3600 S Range Line Rd, Joplin, MO 64804-4446
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range: $49 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunrise Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sunrise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hallmark Hotel
Best Value Hallmark Joplin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing