We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT BELIEVE ANY REVIEW OVER A 1 STAR!”
Review of Sunrise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Inn
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DONT BELIEVE ANY REVIEW OVER A 1 STAR!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Read all the 1 star reviews before you stay here. They're all accurate, except for the one who said the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are trashy, and there hasn't been any remodeling. Those who rated this motel better must have mistakenly posted under the wrong motel. Most important, be sure to check your credit card charges from the motel after you check out!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    7
    6
    44
See reviews for
15
12
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed here over a year ago - there has been several upgrades done to the rooms such as painting & cleanliness
reasonable pricing for a night stay - front desk was very pleasant and helpful for places to eat
shop even places that delivered locally if we didn't want to go out
we asked for a couple extra pillows & bath towels brought them to our room for us

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrone w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We got here after driving from West Plains, in the grey rain, so did not go far, just to the Dennys next door for food. Room was ok, if smelling of smoke, but not as bad as some we had stayed in.
The receptionist was friendly and the rooms perfectly ok for a nights stay.
If people can only find that the carpets and curtains clashed as a complaint, then please spend a lot more money for a Marriott as this was perfect fine for the budget price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

They advertise free continental breakfast, that's a lie, all they have is coffee. There is yellow caution tape all over, the sink and shower fixtures are loose with caulking all over them, theres a bike with no front wheel under one stairway, theres a totaled Jeep Cherokee sitting by the building, the pool is filled in with dirt, just a very trashy place, we were fooled by the acceptable lobby and because we arrived after dark. There are several motels close by, do yourself a favor and stay at one of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Joplin hotels

Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived in Joplin exhausted after a seven hour drive and checked out two different motels. We decided to stay at Sunrise since we knew the beds at the other motel had no support. After checking two of their rooms that were vey dark, we decided on the one with the double bed as it had a small table that would be perfect for the laptop, it had a decent TV, a fridge, and a microwave. Two of the lamps had no bulbs in them and the phone didn't work: the staff was very nice and said it would be taken care of and we paid for two nights. After getting a bite to eat, we came back to find one of the staff members on the floor checking the outlet by the lamp and then he left. We tried the internet several times and couldn't access it, we finally gave up and went to bed. Next morning-still no internet-complained to management and was told they'd check on it. Went to get some breakfast, came back-no internet. Upon looking around more closely, the curtains were filthy, the lampshades tattered and stained, and the cord going to the one lamp had been cut and the bare wires were twisted together with no electrical tape. We left to try to get a room at another motel, which we did. Returned to the Sunrise to pack up and get out. Since we'd already paid for two nights, we wanted a refund for the night we weren't going to stay. Even though we'd reported no internet service since the night before, the manager said he'd refund the credit card minus a checkout fee. Never again would we consider staying there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Came to town a short trip. Spend two nights. First night not bad but not good. Second night going to bed used restroom, look down saw a bug walking across the floor. Did not sleep well after that. Also we were so close to the freeway that we had to listen to that noise all night both nights. This may be a cheap place to stay but not a good one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was nearly put off by the reviews but asked to see the room first. It looked OK & it was. The only 2 things that were a problem was the interior design as the bedspread & carpet clashed. Plus a very stiff washbasin tap. The gentleman who showed me the room was very pleasant. I think it has changed hands as no breakfast was included. Give them a chance & ask to see the room before booking. The general quality of fitments was good. The furniture was a little dated but 'classy' & of good quality. Good location near to many restaurants. Outside needs a bit of sprucing up.

Room Tip: ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 23 in Joplin
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Joplin
Super 8 Joplin
#16 of 23 in Joplin
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 23 in Joplin
826 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 23 in Joplin
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Inn

Property: Sunrise Inn
Address: 3600 S Range Line Rd, Joplin, MO 64804-4446
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunrise Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sunrise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hallmark Hotel
Best Value Hallmark Joplin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing