We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Onion Cafe

Red Onion Cafe
Ranked #1 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch and my party if three each had something different. Everything was very tasty and the prices were reasonable. Will definitely return when back in Joplin.

Helpful?
Thank FloridaGatorFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    102
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pasta is delicious! Loved the Potato soup too! The dessert was ok. We had the Carmel pecan fudge cake & key lime cheese cake both were just ok. Our waitress was ok but could have checked back more. We needed refills & waited a while on our check. We would go back again but skip dessert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I meet for lunch. A little wait but sooooo worth it. Jake was our server and was perfect. I ordered something that they no longer had on the menu but they made it anyway. Jalapeño Tilapia....it was amazing!!! Serving sizes are perfect. Salad dressing was on the side without asking. The house dressing is a sweet vinaigrette and they selling it very reasonably! We bought some and I highly recommend you do so also. I can't have the garlic bread so they substituted while wheat bread. We will be back! Thanks for a great lunch!!

Helpful?
Thank Miahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Red Onion is the most popular restaurant in town because the food is excellent and consistent. They have been around a long time and will be for sometime in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“BEST place to eat in Joplin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This restaurant has became my wife & I favorite place to eat in the Joplin area. At first glance their menu appears to be somewhat limited. However, EVERYTHING on the menu is OUTSTANDING! Any time that we have friends or family come to town to visit we make sure and take them to Red Onion as well. Every time our friends & family have left raving about the exceptional service and amazing food.
My dish of choice is the Tomato Rumba pasta. My wife's is their BLT. Our appetizer of choice is their Stuffed Mushrooms. Both of them are outstanding! We have tried other dishes as well and all of them are exceptional as well.
Lastly, every time we have been the service is top notch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPBENW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing