We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good!”
Review of Red Onion Cafe

Red Onion Cafe
Ranked #1 of 225 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All good!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of our favorites! We eat lunch here often and usually get the same things! The bruschetta and a salad and soup is a great lunch! We have tried a few times to make our own and have gotten close but not quite! It's not as busy at lunch and the prices are good

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    111
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Red Onion is my go-to restaurant for lunch with a friend, a special celebration with family, or quite dinner with my husband. The menu is sophisticated, upscale, and varied. It's not for the person looking for fast food or down-home cooking. I've been a regular at the Red Onion since it opened, and I've never had a bad meal. French Onion Soup and Smoked Chicken Dip were delicious. Dave's Friend Chicken Salad, Love Me Tender Steak Sandwich, Arkansas Smokehouse Chicken are my usual choice...all are WONDERFUL.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of Joplin's prime upscale restaurants!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A great place for a special date or any occasion! A great atmosphere, excellent customer service and great menu options. Something for every pallet and don't forget the dessert selection!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smithphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A group of us (8 to 10) eat at the Red Onion before going to the Joplin Little Theatre and the food and service is always great. It is a popular restaurants and some times there is a waiting line for seating and sometimes the kitchen backs up but it is always worth the wait. The salads are fresh and served chilled. The soup is good and hot. I usually have the pasta but have also had the fish which is excellent. I highly recommend the Red Onion Café and have never had a bad meal or experience here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's one of my favorite places to eat in Joplin. The food is always good. My husband thinks it's a chick restaurant because the portions aren't gigantic, but I think it's perfect. Love the appetizers. Could make a meal on just the different appetizers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paycheque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing