We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag: decent sleep; poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Joplin
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A mixed bag: decent sleep; poor breakfast”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Our reservation got mixed up and instead of getting the two beds we requested, we got one bed and a "sofa" sleeper. Found this out at check in and it could not be changed; hotel was full. The sofa folded out into a TWIN size bed, barely big enough for our teen son. We made a 'bed' for our daughter using the sofa cushions on the floor. Front desk had no more blankets, thankfully we had a few travel size ones in the car.

The room itself is nice and clean. Tiny kitchen is handy. Unique closet includes a door into the bathroom.

Front desk person tried to be helpful but just seemed young and inexperienced. When I pointed out to her that the pool towels were all gone, she gave me room towels to use (fine) but the pool towels were not replenished that evening at all.
Pool is fine if small. A very small fitness room is next door.

Breakfast was a chaotic mess. The standard feed-yourself-fare is set up in a small galley style hallway. It quickly became choked with guests trying to cook their own waffles, fix toast, etc....The area is entirely too small for the guests it needs to serve. Also, my husband waited for 15 minutes for coffee before giving up.

There is an outside walk that leads to the Cracker Barrel restaurant next door.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narnia_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    47
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
27
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2009

This was a fabulous place to stay! Very clean, modern and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nekoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed here in June as one night of our family vacation on Rte. 66. Absolutely loved the place! Large clean rooms, quiet and in a great location. Within walking distance to several restuarants. Indoor pool and fitness room. Nice breakfast area. Continental breakfast included hot/cold cereal, waffles, toast, juice, milk, coffee and tea. Great hotel!

  • Liked — Very clean, friendly staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jotirico52287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The hotel is pretty new and very nice. The entire hotel is very clean. The rooms are pretty and the bedding is white, so there's no problem figuring out how clean the bedspread is. There is a nice kitchen that has dishes and some beverage supplies. The continental breakfast was adequate and the fact that they had a waffle iron where you could have a "hot" breakfast item was a nice touch. The bed was a little firmer than I am used to, but was still comfortable. The only problem we had was getting the right temperature in the room. We never could get a temperature that we were really comfortable with. But, overall the hotel is great and I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — AC/Heater
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meekos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, TN
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Very clean and comfortable. Staff was responsive, courtious, and helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ksc2space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way to Branson, MO from OKC. This was our first time to stay at a Townplace Suites although we are Marriott reward members. I must say I was impressed. Since we were really only there to sleep, unfortunately we didn't get to take advantage of all the amenities such as....the indoor pool, free DVD rentals, exercise room, kitchen, etc. We did eat the free continental breakfast and it was ok. Muffins, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, juices, milk, coffee, etc.

The only complaint that I had was the bathroom was kinda small. Not so much the bathroom, but the vanity area. It did have drawers though which is unusual at a hotel. No toilet lid to close and set my overnight bag on though. They offered the complimentary shampoo and conditioner, but no lotion which would have been nice.

The small kitchen was wonderful although we weren't there long enough to use it. But we did purchase some microwave popcorn in the little store they have and popped that. Full size microwave, even a dishwasher. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was nice too. Very clean. Reminded me of a small studio apartment.

We would definitely stay here again if we're in the area. We only paid $69 and that was a weekday (day before Thanksgiving too). I was thrilled at that. The area seems safe and convenient to I-44. Before long there will be all kinds of other restaurants, hotels, etc. in the area I'm sure. It is located directly behind a Cracker Barrel. There is a new and very nice casino about 8 miles away on exit 1. This hotel is located at exit 8a. They do allow pets because we saw several there. I think they charge a non refundable pet fee of $75, I think I remember reading.

Give it a try, you won't be sorry.

  • Liked — homey feel
  • Disliked — small vanity in bathroom. And I forgot to mention in my review, there was no one at the front desk when we checked out. Had to just leave my key.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oklatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

I reserved what was supposed to be a "larger suite" to stay in while my husband, son and I visited family in the area. The truth is, these are not suites in any sense of the word, they are just regular rooms with a kitchenette. There was no separation between the beds and the so called "living area" which didn't even have a couch, so we had to go to bed when my son did.

  • Liked — Refrigerator
  • Disliked — Not a suite
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sls239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Joplin
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Joplin
Residence Inn Joplin
#4 of 23 in Joplin
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Joplin
Hampton Inn Joplin
#6 of 23 in Joplin
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Joplin

Property: TownePlace Suites Joplin
Address: 4026 Arizona Ave, Joplin, MO 64804-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Joplin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Joplin
#7 Business Hotel in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Joplin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Joplin hotel is the perfect place for temporary housing while relocating, working on a project or visiting family, as well as for those just passing through. Spacious Suites provide you with all the comforts of home including fully equipped kitchen, large work desk, free high-speed internet, and local calls. You'll be sure to get a good night's rest in our cozy beds. This Marriott extended stay hotel offers an indoor pool, patio, on-site laundry, and fitness center. It's easy to maintain your lifestyle at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Joplin, your home away from home. Our hotel is conveniently located off I-44 and US Business 71, giving you easy access to several major highways as well as Joplin's shopping and dining district. Our 24 hour guest service representatives will be happy to assist you with directions to any of the area's attractions, businesses, dining and retail options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joplin Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing